Grilled Portobello and Mozzarella Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
Wow!! I served these because I was having a vegetarian friend over for dinner and I wasn't sure if I'd like them or not--these are perfect. I didn't change a thing. I will be serving them again and again--my friends now think I'm a gourmet chef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
This was delicious--almost exactly like appetizers I've had in gourmet Italian restaurants. I don't like Italian dressing, so I used white wine vinegar with olive oil, basil, garlic, and a touch of rosemary; next time, I'll use balsamic, which I think would be a much better complement to the flavors. I used fresh herbs, which I sprinkled on the marinara, fresh mozzarella, and homemade marinara "imported" from our favorite Jersey deli. I also roasted my own peppers. A definite keeper--and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
Instead of the roasted red peppers, we used Sun Dried Tomatoes and added a little minced garlic....This really is a great dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
This dish was really good, my whole family loved it. I didn't have access to a grill that day, so I pan-roasted the mushroom caps. I'm sure the taste would have been even better had I followed instructions exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
Served this dish as appetizer to impress my best friend's date, needless to say it was a huge success. This will be a summer staple at all of our homes. Very easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
My parents are on the nutrisystem diet so I always try to make a nice veggie to go with their freeze dry little dinners...and I have to say they didn't even touch their entree b/c they loved these so much! Both of them raved about them and while I couldn't grill the mushroom (it was pouring rain) I sauteed them on the stove which didn't seem to hurt at all. They smelled wonderful while cooking, I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shoppingbaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
This is terrific meatless recipe. I took some of the suggestions and used the Italian dressing you mix yourself and also fresh mozzarella for melting on top of the mushrooms. I made some focaccia bread and made sandwiches with the finished mushrooms. My vegetarian boyfriend raved about them for days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
Wow, this was surprisingly yummy and also filling. My husband, who's not a big bell pepper fan, really enjoyed this as well. I chopped the roasted red peppers, instead of slicing them, which I think made it easier to eat. I also omitted the oregano & basil due to family preference, & sprinkled some garlic & dried parsley on top of the peppers before adding part skim milk mozzarella. This is good enough & different enough to serve to company. Oh & I forgot to add that, due to the cold weather, I baked this in the oven at 350 degrees, covered with aluminum foil, until the mushrooms were soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
So yummy. I served this as an appetizer at a grilling party. Several people ended up having them as the main course. I made my own Italian dressing from scratch as the flavor is much better and the mushrooms definely deserved the extra love. Fantastic and I will be serving these much more often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2006
Yummy! And my husband isn't a huge mushroom person - but he gobbled these up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms with Blue Cheese

Watch how to make delicious grilled portobello mushrooms with blue cheese.

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms

Watch how to make grilled, marinated portobello mushrooms.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States