Grilled Portobello and Mozzarella Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Wow oh wow! This might seem strange but it makes the best meal. Several notes after making this a number of times. We place the mushroom upside down and pour the dressing into the vanes of the cap -- the marinade soaks up much better and is less of a mess because you just pour out the excess before cooking. The more flavor you want the longer you marinade. We have used both the grill and the broiler which is different but work fine. Under the broiler you can brown the top of the cap first, turn it over, add the cheese to the underside then brown the rest of the way. We finish off with marinara sauce heated in the microwave. This is a really different and really easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I Have Issues

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Definitely enjoyed this. Made with grill pan inside, I can see where it would be much better with the smokiness of a grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Loved this, and we will make it again. We only had two portabellas so we had to eyeball some of the measurements, but they turned out delicious! We used shredded cheese instead of slices because we didn't have slices, but it got the job done. I also added a little bit of freshly ground black pepper and garlic powder, but they still would've been good without that. I served them with whole wheat cheese tortellini. I was going to take a picture of them so that there could be a picture for this recipe, but we literally could think of nothing else but eating them immediately when they came out of the oven LOL. Oh well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Amazing! I roasted my own red peppers using a separate recipe. This turned out delicious!!! I, however, used shredded mozzarella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Delicious! Only change we made was to use fresh basil instead of dried and we melted the cheese on the grill instead of switching to the broiler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
So good, I served this on toasted italian bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I put alittle bit of a spin on this. i marinated for 48 hours, with good seasons italian. Grilled and topped with fresh smoked mozzarrella. Serve with a simple caesar salad. My husband says this is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Made these as an appetizer and they were fabulous!! Very scrumptious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Delicious! Even my super-carnivorous parents loved this dish! So easy and so filling; I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
These mushrooms were delicious! The only changed I made was I used Balsamic dressing instead of Italian dressing. Followed the recipe exactly and everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms

Watch how to make grilled, marinated portobello mushrooms.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Portobello Mushroom Burgers

See how to make the steak of veggie burgers!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States