Grilled Pork Chops with Balsamic Caramelized Pears Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
I used 4 pork loin chops (about 3/4" thick, so they definitely took longer than 3 minutes per side to grill), but I used the full amount of balsamic-onion-pear sauce. I browned the onions on their own (not sure why recipe states to be sure to leave onions in wedges; couldn't possibly happen at my house unless skewering them, and um...why?!); then at the end of the browning, I added the pear wedges so they wouldn't get too mushy. This worked great (thanks to reviewer, imvintage). The balsamic reduction did harden when it cooled, but a bit of heat brought it back to the syrup stage. I started the chops out on the grill, but I'm a little bit of a grill-wuss and had never grilled pork chops before, so when it seemed like there might be the potential for them getting too tough, I brought them inside and finished them off in a pan. They came out great; done, not tough, and still had that great grilled flavor as well as retaining the subtle rosemary flavor. I reheated the onion-pear sauce on the stovetop, rather than the grill. Thank you, Osorkin, for a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
This recipe is all about the sauce. It's that good. I made a double batch. I used half for the pork-beautiful! The other half I cooked down into a chutney & used it as a topping for brushetta with melted gorgonzola on top-Oh Mommie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheepy
Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
We loved this! The flavor of the balsamic meshes so well the pork chops. Although I think the pears got lost in the mix & they turned mushy. I don't think they added anything to the dish & next time I will leave them out. I did use thin chops & I grilled them inside on a grill pan. On the test bite they wrre a little salty & that worried me but after topping w/ the balsamic mixture, the taste was perfect! I left them in the brine for almost the full hour...for health reasons, next time I will decrease the time to try to eliminate some of the saltiness. I srved these w/a basic salad & pan fried garlic asparagus...looking forward to having them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
The flavor of the pork is VERY good in this - I was a little skeptical of the "brining" process, but I guess it worked. I stuck toothpicks through my onion wedges - I don't knw how they would have stayed together otherwise...I barely had the pears in long enough to heat them up, and still they were overcooked. When I make this again I won't heat them at all, just pour the hot sauce on 'em. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
Wonderful! The pear/onion/balsamic mixture was to die for, and the chops were very juicy. The marinade was flavorful enough that the meat would have been excellent even without the toppings. One change- I pan-fried the chops (about six minutes on each side), instead of grilling them. Very impressive and 'gourmet' tasting, but still easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
This dish is one of my favorites to make! It's so easy and is absolutely delicious! One important tip I learned from experience: read the packaging of your meat carefully. Some meats have already been brined (when it says so-and-so percent salt and water). In that case, try skipping the brining step. You can always brine it for a short while next time if you think it necessary. Also, I think thin-cut chops (as the recipe calls for) work best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Excellant and easy....I substituted apples for pears....I wasn't sure how to cut them so I did some thick and some thinner...I definatley recommend thicker, that way they dont turn to mush...Definately Recommend. Served with Rosmary roasted potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
I cooked this recipe for a dinner party and the look on the faces of my guests told it all.... it is such a great recipe! If you have never cooked with vinegar before, OPEN a window. I found out the hard way that boiling vinegar will make it hard to stand in an unventilated room. I used hickory chips on the grill and it did add a nice smokey flavor to everything. Will definitely make this again when I want to impress!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raymond Ackermann

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
This was great, but I made some changes. I didn't use pork chops, I used chicken breasts. Instead of brining them, I marinated them in sherry, olive oil, garlic, and rosemary. I didn't grill. I sauteed the onions (cut into rings) and the pears, removed them,cooked the chicken in the same pan. To the vinegar mix, I added about 1 tablespoon of honey and two drops of Tabasco and poured it over the onions and pears while the chicken cooked. I deglazed the skillet with a little sherry, dumped the onions/pears back in, warmed them back up and served. Marvelous! I paired it with a sweet potato/pear recipe from this site and used the leftover cranberry sauce from that recipe to accompany the chicken. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sussex, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Waunakee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2004
I was so disappointed with this recipe. It sounded good and smelled good but I only could eat one bite. My husband said it wasn't that bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Brown Sugar Pork Chops

Sweet and juicy, brown sugar pork chops.

Tropical Grilled Pork Chops

Grilled marinated pork chops are topped with a spicy pineapple-mango salsa.

Best Grilled Pork Chops

See how to make juicy, flavorful grilled pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States