Grilled Pork Chops with Balsamic Caramelized Pears Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
This was great, but I made some changes. I didn't use pork chops, I used chicken breasts. Instead of brining them, I marinated them in sherry, olive oil, garlic, and rosemary. I didn't grill. I sauteed the onions (cut into rings) and the pears, removed them,cooked the chicken in the same pan. To the vinegar mix, I added about 1 tablespoon of honey and two drops of Tabasco and poured it over the onions and pears while the chicken cooked. I deglazed the skillet with a little sherry, dumped the onions/pears back in, warmed them back up and served. Marvelous! I paired it with a sweet potato/pear recipe from this site and used the leftover cranberry sauce from that recipe to accompany the chicken. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sussex, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Waunakee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
This recipe is fabulous! I made it for my fiance for our aniiversary dinner, and he said it was the best meal he's had in a year! I browned the pork in a pan on the stove because we do not have a grill, but it turned out great. Very good served with a simple salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
Had a hard time getting the vinegar reduced properly which probably affected the sauce. I will try it again with thinner chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2007
This recipe was made by family and was a wonderful dish. I don't know how easy it is to prepare, but has made it's way into my collection to make at just the right time. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
got great reviews from my boy-friend, and he was impressed i made something "different" than just plain breaded pork chops. Really good contrast of flavors and texture. Made a bit of a mess with the balsamic when making it into a syrup but everything turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
I used 4 pork loin chops (about 3/4" thick, so they definitely took longer than 3 minutes per side to grill), but I used the full amount of balsamic-onion-pear sauce. I browned the onions on their own (not sure why recipe states to be sure to leave onions in wedges; couldn't possibly happen at my house unless skewering them, and um...why?!); then at the end of the browning, I added the pear wedges so they wouldn't get too mushy. This worked great (thanks to reviewer, imvintage). The balsamic reduction did harden when it cooled, but a bit of heat brought it back to the syrup stage. I started the chops out on the grill, but I'm a little bit of a grill-wuss and had never grilled pork chops before, so when it seemed like there might be the potential for them getting too tough, I brought them inside and finished them off in a pan. They came out great; done, not tough, and still had that great grilled flavor as well as retaining the subtle rosemary flavor. I reheated the onion-pear sauce on the stovetop, rather than the grill. Thank you, Osorkin, for a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
This recipe is all about the sauce. It's that good. I made a double batch. I used half for the pork-beautiful! The other half I cooked down into a chutney & used it as a topping for brushetta with melted gorgonzola on top-Oh Mommie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheepy
Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
Made it for my company, really good. I too wish I had made double the vinegar reduction. Definatly a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
Very good! To save time, put the garlic and rosemary into the brine. The pork will still have the garlic and rosemary flavor without having to spend time marinating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
We loved this! The flavor of the balsamic meshes so well the pork chops. Although I think the pears got lost in the mix & they turned mushy. I don't think they added anything to the dish & next time I will leave them out. I did use thin chops & I grilled them inside on a grill pan. On the test bite they wrre a little salty & that worried me but after topping w/ the balsamic mixture, the taste was perfect! I left them in the brine for almost the full hour...for health reasons, next time I will decrease the time to try to eliminate some of the saltiness. I srved these w/a basic salad & pan fried garlic asparagus...looking forward to having them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Tropical Grilled Pork Chops

Grilled marinated pork chops are topped with a spicy pineapple-mango salsa.

How to Make Grilled Pork Chops

See how to make a sensational marinade for grilled pork chops.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States