Grilled Pork Chops with Balsamic Caramelized Pears Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
This was very delicious, and I was happy to find a different use for pears. Next time, I will let the chops rest in the brine for longer, and throw the pears in a few minutes after the onion - they came out a little too soft. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Harte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henley, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
This recipe was really good. It would have been nice to have grilled outside but it was raining so I used my cast iron skillet. It smoked up on me so the meat had a smoky flavor. My only adjustment was that I added 1 Tablespoon of sugar to the pear/onion/vinegar mixture for some extra sweetness. Next time I will brine and marinate longer for the meat to get the extra flavor. My husband liked it as well and the kids loved the pears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
The flavor of this was great. I think I need to work on the look of it though. The pear and onion sauce wasn't very saucy so it didn't look all that great. I love that you can make everything ahead of time so yes, while it's a little time consuming, it's not hard per say. I managed to make this on a week night with a toddler running around! I love brining the pork chops and will probably do this a lot from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
This was I think one of the best meals I have found yet on the website. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
Like heaven on a plate. I'm not joking, that good. I would def use ripe pears, as unripe ones take forever to get soft. The first time I made this I didn't do the balsamic right and it ended up more liquid than glaze, but still sweet tasting. The second time the balsamic came out right, I just needed to let it simmer longer. This meal is relatively simple and very elegant to look at. I'm planning on making it for my next dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skaparker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
This was really good, I will definitely make it again. The only hard part about making this recipe was the timing. I cooked the onions for longer than the pears, and cooked the pears for about 2 minutes each side. The flavor came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I would have rated this higher but I didn't have time to marinate it as long as the recipe asked for. So for just a half hour of marinating, it was still very flavorful. I can't wait to try it again when I have more time for the marninade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patkt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Casper, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
This is a regular recipe for us now. I usually double the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Odenton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
This was a fabulous dinner with a very impressive presentation. I served it with Basmati rice and steamed asparagus. It was asolutely delicious and well worth the 3 step process!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gourmet wannabes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cowiche, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
the flavor and taste of the pork meat was lost. instead it was a sweetish taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tropical Grilled Pork Chops

Grilled marinated pork chops are topped with a spicy pineapple-mango salsa.

How to Make Grilled Pork Chops

See how to make a sensational marinade for grilled pork chops.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States