Grilled Pork Chops with Balsamic Caramelized Pears Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
A very nice and flavourful recipe to dress up the common pork chop, if not overpowering the taste of the pork in the process, but I am ok with that. I added some high quality fig jam to the balsamic vinger to add that second element to it, which I think helped bring out the pear flavour too. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mitchell_2au

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Liverpool, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Very good, but the quality of the vinager is very important
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This is a wonderful dish. I used thick, boneless pork chops instead of thin ones. My husband asked me to serve this at an upcoming dinner party where I had planned to serve my 30 year old chicken enchilada special dish. I had to agree that this would be better and much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
This was sooo good. I didn't brine my chops, but I did marinate them in the olive oil and rosemary for about 30 minutes. I didn't have any pears on hand either, so I used apples and cooked them in my George Foreman Grill instead of outside. But other than that, I prepared the recipe as written. I agree with the other posts--next time I will make a double batch of the balsamic reduction. The sauce is what makes this dish!!! I made this for my best friend about a week ago and he's still raving about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
I didn't have any pork so I used chicken instead. I think it would have been better with pork but it was still great with the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
This recipe is delightful. The combination of flavors blend perfectly! I make this any time I have pork- has become my favorite dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
pretty good recipe...the guests liked it...I am not a fan of Rosemary...so this recipe had a little too much for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
So Delicious!! Pork chops were tender and the sauce was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
This dish is one of my favorites to make! It's so easy and is absolutely delicious! One important tip I learned from experience: read the packaging of your meat carefully. Some meats have already been brined (when it says so-and-so percent salt and water). In that case, try skipping the brining step. You can always brine it for a short while next time if you think it necessary. Also, I think thin-cut chops (as the recipe calls for) work best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This was good, but not as good as I expected. Both my husband and I agreed the pears seemed a little out of place, apples probably would have been better. The pork chops were nice and tender though and they had a very good flavour. Be careful when reducing your vinegar. I had mine on too high and I wasn't paying enough attention to it and it reduced too much to thick caramel-like texture. I had to do that part over :( Overall 4 stars. Might try again with apples to see how that tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 31-40 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Brown Sugar Pork Chops

Sweet and juicy, brown sugar pork chops.

Tropical Grilled Pork Chops

Grilled marinated pork chops are topped with a spicy pineapple-mango salsa.

Best Grilled Pork Chops

See how to make juicy, flavorful grilled pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States