Grilled Pork Chops with Balsamic Caramelized Pears Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Eh....I must say the brining delivered a very tender pork chop, but the dish as a whole was nothing to write home about. It was just okay. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Just OK. Perhaps it's because it sounds so sophisticated but I really did not like it. It was just OK. I'm an expert cook so I followed it to a tee. I would certainly not make it again. Not worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mason, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
I will make this again for sure! I didn't have any pears and it was still excellent even without them. I will try it again sometime with the pears. I used two different kinds of onions for extra color and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TruTigress

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
This recipe takes some planning ahead to brine and marinade but it's worth it. This is a fairly easy dish with big results. One you could use to impress a date! The only thing I changes was that I added salt, pepper, and some balsamic vinegar to the marinade to give it some extra flavor and color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I found that the pork itself turned out excellent. It was flavorful and cooked perfectly. The pears though were not my favorite. They were just so incredibly saturated with the sauce that it was a little too much. I think I would have preferred for a stronger pear flavor, less balsamic. However, I was using an aged balsamic I bought in Italy, so it's possible that the ratios or flavors were not as intended. I will probably try this recipe again with a standard balsamic and see if it's any different. The onions really do add something though. I don't even usually like onions but found myself eating them. I wish I had added more! This recipe didn't instantly make it to my "favorites" list, but I will give it another shot sometime and see if the results are a little different, and if it grows on me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nutley, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
A very nice and flavourful recipe to dress up the common pork chop, if not overpowering the taste of the pork in the process, but I am ok with that. I added some high quality fig jam to the balsamic vinger to add that second element to it, which I think helped bring out the pear flavour too. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Liverpool, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Very good, but the quality of the vinager is very important
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This is a wonderful dish. I used thick, boneless pork chops instead of thin ones. My husband asked me to serve this at an upcoming dinner party where I had planned to serve my 30 year old chicken enchilada special dish. I had to agree that this would be better and much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
This was sooo good. I didn't brine my chops, but I did marinate them in the olive oil and rosemary for about 30 minutes. I didn't have any pears on hand either, so I used apples and cooked them in my George Foreman Grill instead of outside. But other than that, I prepared the recipe as written. I agree with the other posts--next time I will make a double batch of the balsamic reduction. The sauce is what makes this dish!!! I made this for my best friend about a week ago and he's still raving about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
I didn't have any pork so I used chicken instead. I think it would have been better with pork but it was still great with the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Brown Sugar Pork Chops

Sweet and juicy, brown sugar pork chops.

Tropical Grilled Pork Chops

Grilled marinated pork chops are topped with a spicy pineapple-mango salsa.

How to Make Grilled Pork Chops

See how to make a sensational marinade for grilled pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States