Grilled Pork Chops with Balsamic Caramelized Pears Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
5 stars for taste - the directions merit a 4 star rating. First, the salt and sugar do not dissolve in the brine unless you heat it, and then you have to cool it so you don't precook your chops. I have used other brine recipes that dissolve the salt etc. in a small amount of hot water and then use ice cubes to cool it off and bring it to the correct amount of liquid. Also, you have to be careful about cooking the pears too long - mine were ripe and would have been total mush if I cooked them at high heat and then for 7 minutes. But, I am being very picky, and the dish was delicious with unique flavors. Cooked on my indoor electric grill and used thyme because I did not have any rosemary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I enjoyed this recipe. I used asian pears. they were perfect because they remain firm while cooking. I would make this again with double the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Killer Carrot
Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Husband loved this. I only did 2 pork chops, and broiled them. Chopped the onions and added pears after browning per others' suggestions. Husband said the sauce was great and the chops were very tender. I don't eat meat, so am relaying husband's opinion. Easy to prepare, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I skipped the pear mixture (but brined the pork chops and had the balsalmic reduction). I'll definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Eh....I must say the brining delivered a very tender pork chop, but the dish as a whole was nothing to write home about. It was just okay. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Just OK. Perhaps it's because it sounds so sophisticated but I really did not like it. It was just OK. I'm an expert cook so I followed it to a tee. I would certainly not make it again. Not worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mason, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
I will make this again for sure! I didn't have any pears and it was still excellent even without them. I will try it again sometime with the pears. I used two different kinds of onions for extra color and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TruTigress

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
This recipe takes some planning ahead to brine and marinade but it's worth it. This is a fairly easy dish with big results. One you could use to impress a date! The only thing I changes was that I added salt, pepper, and some balsamic vinegar to the marinade to give it some extra flavor and color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I found that the pork itself turned out excellent. It was flavorful and cooked perfectly. The pears though were not my favorite. They were just so incredibly saturated with the sauce that it was a little too much. I think I would have preferred for a stronger pear flavor, less balsamic. However, I was using an aged balsamic I bought in Italy, so it's possible that the ratios or flavors were not as intended. I will probably try this recipe again with a standard balsamic and see if it's any different. The onions really do add something though. I don't even usually like onions but found myself eating them. I wish I had added more! This recipe didn't instantly make it to my "favorites" list, but I will give it another shot sometime and see if the results are a little different, and if it grows on me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nutley, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
A very nice and flavourful recipe to dress up the common pork chop, if not overpowering the taste of the pork in the process, but I am ok with that. I added some high quality fig jam to the balsamic vinger to add that second element to it, which I think helped bring out the pear flavour too. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mitchell_2au

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Liverpool, New South Wales, Australia

Displaying results 21-30 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Brown Sugar Pork Chops

Sweet and juicy, brown sugar pork chops.

Tropical Grilled Pork Chops

Grilled marinated pork chops are topped with a spicy pineapple-mango salsa.

Best Grilled Pork Chops

See how to make juicy, flavorful grilled pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States