Grilled Pork Chops with Balsamic Caramelized Pears Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
Made this tonight and the family loved it! As for the brine, the salt and sugar will dissolve in room temperature water if you simply stir it for a bit before adding the pork. I used coarse salt and sugar in the raw (also large granules), and had no problems at all after stirring it. I found no need to add any salt to the chops before grilling--brining is sufficient after 1 hour. I'm sure dried rosemary would work in a pinch, but fresh rosemary is really added so much flavor. I tried to keep the onions in a wedge, but they fell apart as they browned. I didn't see this as a problem though. Only alteration I made was to use peaches instead of pears--yummy!!! Cut into large wedges so they wouldn't fall apart or get mushy. We loved it, and it will be in our rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
Yummy. A little time intensive but well worth it. I would definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by alexolsen7
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
I made this last night for my family and grandparents and they loved it! I upped the recipe just a little and made 8 pork chops instead of 6 and added about 5 pears into the mix instead of only 2 since i had pears that were about to go bad, because the pears were so ripe they mostly turned into mush but it made a great sauce, i then chopped up the onions instead of slicing them into wedges. I also had to cook the pork chops much longer than 3 minutes on each side, it turned out to be more like 8 and they came out perfectly! All and all even with the few adjustments it was a very enjoyable dish. My family cant stop talking about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
I made this tonight and it was fantastic. The pork was was done to perfection and the balsamic and pears added a special touch. Will definitely make this again. The only thing I did differently was to double the balsamic vinegar. Served the chops with a side salad(tomatoes from my garden) and corn on the cob done on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
You can use other fruits too.. I used cherries and apricot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
5 stars for taste - the directions merit a 4 star rating. First, the salt and sugar do not dissolve in the brine unless you heat it, and then you have to cool it so you don't precook your chops. I have used other brine recipes that dissolve the salt etc. in a small amount of hot water and then use ice cubes to cool it off and bring it to the correct amount of liquid. Also, you have to be careful about cooking the pears too long - mine were ripe and would have been total mush if I cooked them at high heat and then for 7 minutes. But, I am being very picky, and the dish was delicious with unique flavors. Cooked on my indoor electric grill and used thyme because I did not have any rosemary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I enjoyed this recipe. I used asian pears. they were perfect because they remain firm while cooking. I would make this again with double the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Killer Carrot
Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Husband loved this. I only did 2 pork chops, and broiled them. Chopped the onions and added pears after browning per others' suggestions. Husband said the sauce was great and the chops were very tender. I don't eat meat, so am relaying husband's opinion. Easy to prepare, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I skipped the pear mixture (but brined the pork chops and had the balsalmic reduction). I'll definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Eh....I must say the brining delivered a very tender pork chop, but the dish as a whole was nothing to write home about. It was just okay. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tropical Grilled Pork Chops

Grilled marinated pork chops are topped with a spicy pineapple-mango salsa.

How to Make Grilled Pork Chops

See how to make a sensational marinade for grilled pork chops.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States