Grilled Pizza Wraps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
Let me just say that these are a great idea. I was hesitant to make them for a party, because I am known as the Martha Stewart of my group of friends, and I usually spend lots of time and effort on everything I make. I didn't want to ruin my reputation by making something easy, but I was running out of time! For this recipe, I used two 10" tortillas for each quesadilla-- one on the bottom and one on top. When they were done, I cut them with a pizza cutter for cute pizza-slice-shaped appetizers. For the sauce in the quesadillas, I used my favorite pizza sauce recipe: 3 (8 oz) cans of tomato sauce, 1 (6 oz) can of tomato paste, 1 tablespoon dried oregano, 1 1/2 teaspoons dried marjoram, 1 1/2 teaspoons dried basil, 1 teaspoon garlic salt, and 1 tablespoon plus 1 teaspoon white sugar. (Combine all in saucepan, bring to a simmer to combine flavors, and adjust seasonings to taste. Use leftovers dipping sauce for the quesadillas!) I used mozzerella cheese, pepperoni, sun-dried tomatoes, and sliced italian sausage links inside, and they were sooooooooo good. One thing to note-- these hold together really well if you put cheese down as the first layer (after sauce) and again as the last layer after the other ingredients. Everyone thought these were great. I called them PIZZADILLAS. Yum, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
183 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allison125

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2003
These are so good! We have them almost every week now.:-) I did make a couple of changes. We used cheddar and mozzerella cheese, and we added olives and sauteed mushrooms with the pepperoni for "toppings" Also so we don't burn them, we cook on the stove until the tortilla is golden and then put the on a cookie sheet in a heated oven. That way the cheese melts and they stay warm while the others are be cooked. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUCIFEY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Awesome little snack! So simple and especially good when you're craving pizza. I used "Pasta/Pizza Sauce" from this site and opted to cook these in the oven @ 375 for about 15 minutes on a foil lined baking sheet. I sprayed a little Pam so nothing would stick. I used an Italian cheese blend and used a combination of pepperoni and salami. I left the sauce on the side for dipping and these were oh so good! You could easily put your favorite ingredients inside this and design your ideal pizza wrap - YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
My mom has made these for 20+ years. She, however, put down foil, then a tortilla and the fixings *yes cheese first and last* then folded tortilla over and sealed the foil up and put them *IN* the oven for 30 minutes at 350 degrees. I make this often when the kids are feeling picky and I am in a pinch for dinner or lunch or snack time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2002
We used to have a caterer that brought these into work and I would buy one every time. This is exactly how there were made except the also had suasage, canadian bacon and supreme (that had pepperoni, sausage and green peppers). You can play around with these and they're very tasty! They also make a quick lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Good quick dinner. I didn't use the margerine (my pan was a non stick) and I made my own pizza sauce. Inside my own pizza "quesadilla", I added pickled jalapenos. Kids especially liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2003
Very good, and simple! I didn't use any butter at all...I used a nonstick pan, and didn't need to use anything. I want to stress what another reviewer said..put cheese down as the first and last layer, and they hold together really well. The recipe says to use a tablespoon of sauce on each one, but I like a lot of sauce, so I put a few spoonfuls on each one. They were very messy! Next time (and there WILL be a next time) I will follow the recipe and use the correct amount of sauce! Or I might try just serving the sauce on the side. I served them with a little salad, it made a cute little dinner for my husband and me! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
Since I'm pretty much obsessed with any form of pizza, I've been making these for years. I use mozzarella, store brand pizza sauce (which I like better than the brand name), and turkey pepperoni. I use cooking spray instead of butter. I sometimes eat these as a wrap, cold with fresh tomato, kind of like a pizza lunchable (some think it's gross, but I like it) and also pop them in the toaster oven or microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erincooks

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New Melle, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2002
this was so simple and delicious. it took about 5 minutes to make lunch and the kid's loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2002
very fast to put together/cook. nice alternative to traditional quesadillas and pizza. i added a little more cheese on top of the pepperoni to ensure a good "seal" with the top half of the tortilla. versatile recipe because you can choose your own fillings. perfect for a quick lunch or no-fuss dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Grilled Sausage and Pepper Pizza

See how to make a quick-and-easy sausage pizza on the grill.

Grilled Bacon Jalapeno Wraps

Jalapenos are stuffed with cream cheese, wrapped in bacon, and grilled!

Pita Pizza

See how to make grilled individual pita pizzas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States