Grilled Peanut Butter and Jelly Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
Good sandwich that I've been making for years but to save calories and trans fat I use peanut butter that's made w/o hydrogenated oil (there isn't a difference in taste), and use one of those $10 sandwich makers. It doesn't require butter because it actually toasts the sandwich. It melts the peanut butter and jelly and tastes so good that you won't notice that there isn't any type of butter on the outside. And, you'll feel good because you saved yourself a few extra calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
356 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
Sheesh I've been cooking for over 20 years and finally found the ultimate recipe. Thank God for allrecipes.com. I just made a few changes of course. Instead of peanut butter I used sliced turkey breast. And instead of jelly I subsituted with cheddar cheese. But I wanted to stay with the original recipe so I spread the outside pieces with some butter and grilled it in a pan. When I took them off the pan and took a bite, I knew I had to thank the brilliant cook who sent this wonderful recipe. Thank goodness you are a contributor to allrecipes. My family loved it and I'll be making this at least once a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
323 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oldsingledad

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2003
Oh man, you guys are killin' me out there! When one is a peanut butter junkie and is also trying to diet, one should never, ever read any kind of review that contains this creamy indulgence. My first mistake was reading the recipe itself when I came across it. My second mistake was then reading the reviews! Up until then it was "do I, or don't I"? Thanks to "MC MA of 3's" review (the woman's a bad influence on me) I just couldn't resist! Before I knew it, I was in the kitchen grilling this baby up. I must say though, that after inhaling it, I felt absolutely no remorse! Chastity, I don't know whether to thank you or not for submitting this amazing little sandwich recipe because now I know I'll never get back to my diet! DELICIOUS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
204 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
Don't know why I took a Home Ec course in 7th grade in 1965...guess I wanted something easy just for the credit as I had been cooking and baking for several years already and didn't need this basic instruction. So the class, as I suspected, was boring (but fun) for me. We made some pretty basic recipes, none of them particularly memorable. But it speaks volumes that this simple twist on a basic PB&J sandwich left such an impression on me after all these years. I will NEVER forget that first bite... As with many other things in life, the more simple things are often the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I'm an admitted peanut butter addict and love to find new ways to eat the stuff and boy was this good! Sometimes the simplest things in life turn out to be some of the best and this was no exception. If you love peanut butter and jelly sanwiches give this a try, you'll be glad you did. Definitely have an ice cold glass of milk handy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Laura
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
This is good but it's only a hot peanut butter and jelly sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jill Hammond
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
Are you kidding me?? Who thinks of recipes like this? I never in a million years would have thought of toasting my PBJ sandwich. This was absolutely delicious with PB just dripping right out of it! I'm not sure I could ever eat a regular one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Hammond

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
A good way to turn "same ol'" into "sinful." I highly recommend using tablespoons instead of teaspoons for the measurements of peanut butter and jelly. If you're watching fat intake (if you are, why are you eating peanut butter anyway?), you can get good results by leaving out the butter and grill and just popping the sandwich into a toaster oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Hyphenated Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
This was pretty yummy, but I used my foreman and it all fell apart on me :( Next time I will try on a griddle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SamanthaMarie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: North Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
Love it!! The only thing my son can cook and he made this JUST yesterday. I had to laugh at the reviewer who subbed the peanut butter with turkey and the jelly with cheese. That was the funniest review I've ever read.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by w8n2xhl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jeannette, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Madison Heights, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 345) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Peanut Butter and Banana Sandwich

Make a grilled sandwich with gooey melted peanut butter and sweet sliced bananas.

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Peanut Butter Chili

See how to turn common pantry items into delicious vegetarian chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States