Grilled Peanut Butter and Jelly Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
I rarely write a review, but this doesn't work and yet so many have given it such a high score. Here is the problem: Peanut butter is not made to be cooked like this. It breaks down into it's oil base and just burns you. The nutty flavor is diminished. The jelly liquifies. The best way to do a hot PB&J is to toast the bread first, spread the butter thinly and then spread on the P & J to your liking. The peanut butter will lightly thin this way giving you a better mouth-feel and the jelly will stay relatively firm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
I've made this but with cheese instead of peanut butter. My daughters-in-law think I'm nuts but my son's have loved it all their lives and my oldest is 38
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ReadMyLips26
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Oh my, what a great sandwich! Not one I would have ever come up with, thank goodness for Allrecipies e-mail!! Who would ever think to grill a PB&J? This is just one way to up the awesome for a PB&J.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReadMyLips26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Great taste (assuming you love peanut butter) but this is basically a toasted PB&J. Toasting vs Grilling is lots easier and you don't have to worry about oozing PB&J on the griddle. I just went to the Texas state fair and had a deep fried PB&J. Now that was a different treat! But this is a close second.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
My mother made this for me 40 years ago, still love it today. She used to toast it in the toaster oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Simple suggestion.Cut in quarters on the diagonal and serve at your next party. Omit jelly and replace with banana and mayo. yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Try slicing a banana in it too.. Delicious!;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
I have been making these for years as I have never cared for grilled cheese sandwiches! Crunchy peanut butter is really good too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Has been a favorite of mine for 40 years! (I'm 48)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
I laughed when I saw this on a restaurant menu years ago. When I decided to make one I just made a regular peanut butter sandwich and grilled it. Very rich, yummy & gooey. A great cold winter sandwich. This recipe is a good guideline but basically you just make it and enjoy. I only butter one side of one slice of bread, put a small amount of butter in the skillet, put the unbuttered side of sandwich down first. I is a lot less messy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 354) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Peanut Butter and Banana Sandwich

Make a grilled sandwich with gooey melted peanut butter and sweet sliced bananas.

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Peanut Butter Chili

See how to turn common pantry items into delicious vegetarian chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States