Grilled Orange Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
I hate to be mean but I did not care for this recipe. I was a little reluctant to make it because of a few negative reviews from "Expert's" but I figured that I would give it a try because I love Orange Chicken. The flavors just don't work, too much balsamic flavor - not enough orange flavor. Dinner was saved by adding Sweet & Sour sauce to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsHuey10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
I cook chicken at least twice a week, so am always looking for something different. I was intrigued by the combination of marmalade and balsamic, so decided to try it. We loved it! Very easy, and very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Very good, the orange isn't too strong but the sauce adds that extra flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I followed the recipe (aside from cooking in the oven as opposed to the grill) and just found the dish okay. I think I was hoping for the Chinese restaurant Orange chicken. This sauce was fairly runny and not as thick as I was hoping. The chicken didn't really seem to soak up the flavor like I was hoping. We may try again and just add some more spices and marinate the chicken to see if that helps. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anderson, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
Wonderful recipe - I made it for my husband and I and we both enjoyed it. We'll make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Neepawa, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Christopher Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
We love this recipe. It was easy to make and tasted great! It's winter here so I didn't grill the chicken. Instead I butterflied some chicken breasts and lightly floured them, pan-seared each side until it was golden brown, poured the sauce over and baked in the oven. A definite keeper! 6/16/09: This time I made this on the grill and it wasn't as great. I think that butterflying the chicken and cooking it in the oven allowed the flavors to infuse more into the chicken. The family agrees that grilled this only deserves 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saucymama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
we used tenders for this recipe. i marinated the chicken in some of the glaze for about 3 hours, then basted it when grilling. i forgot to reserve some for dipping but it didn't need it. i had guest over and they asked for the recipe. served with white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMClanton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Very good, I cut the chicken into 2" chunks, and marinated for 1 day, then baked it in the marinade, when it was done I put the chicken over brown rice and reduced the marinade/juices and poured over the top. Very flavorful but by no means overpowering, serve w/ steamed pea pods, and honey ginger carrots (on this website). Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
At first I did not know how good this was going to be, but after I took the first bite, this is for sure to be a recipe that I will keep on using. It was great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ricky Corky

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Tangy, easy, and delicious. I used Quorn (fake chicken) and omitted the chives because I didn't happen to have any handy. I added minced garlic and crushed red peppers to the marmalade and vinegar mixture to give it a little more punch. Lastly, I broiled the "chicken" rather than grilling it. I served this with homemade mashed potatoes and rolls and it was delicious. The 15 year old in my home ate every bite so he adds his implicit stamp of approval. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Child of the World

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panama City, Panama Province, Panama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chris' Grilled Orange Chicken

This citrus marinade makes chicken moist and tender on the grill.

Grilled Game Hens with Blood Orange & Rosemary

See how to grill game hens marinated in blood orange juice and rosemary.

Marinated Grilled Chicken II

Simple recipe that helps combat dry chicken blues.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States