Grilled Onion Blossom Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Delicious! I sprayed the foil with Pam and used lite butter along with minced garlic, rosemary, and thyme. Be sure to poke some holes in the foil or it will be a soggy mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
awesome and easy appetizer. Impressive taste makes this one I'll definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2002
This was great and easy. I prepared the onion before the guests came for a BBQ, and while everyone was chatting and getting drinks I threw the onions on the grill, when done I just took them from grill to table and everyone raved about them. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
We just came back from a camping trip and this was on the menu. We loved it! It was very tasty. I added a few things to this to make it sensational. I cut the onion up and added the butter, freshly chopped garlic cloves (we love garlic), a pinch of cayenne pepper, and a couple of grinds of a Cajun blend. Wrapped them in aluminum foil and threw them straight into the coals. Wow! We were impressed. We like it spicy and garlicky and we got just that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Idealnut
Home Town: Reykjavík, Höfuðborgarsvæði, Iceland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
Wonderful! We all loved this. I altered the recipe just a little. I used a red onion. After slicing, I sprinkled with one packet of chicken boullion (instead of salt), one smashed clove of garlic and topped with Becel (margarine). After cooking and carefully unwrapping I was able to carefully transfer to a small bowl with a slotted spoon with the onion intact. I removed the garlic and poured the the cooking juice over the onion. It looked beautiful. It did completely fall apart with the first serving, but it disappeared so fast there was hardly time to notice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
yummy! i made this with 2 medium vidalia onions cut into 6 wedges, a clove of chopped garlic (instead of garlic salt) & added a sprinkle of seasoned salt to boot. these are simple to make & there's a nice presentation value too. our grilled onion blossoms, wrapped in heavy duty foil, were tender in 35 minutes. thank you johnna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
I did add some chopped roasted garlic to this but the only other recommendation I would make is -- make MORE than one because these are amazing and literally disappear when you take them off the grill!! Thank you for the delish recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
Easy and Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Yummy! A few changes I like to make: Instead of placing the seasonings inside of the onion, I sprinkle it all on top and allow it to melt down. I also add quite a bit of seasoned salt on top for a little kick and extra flavor. Don't expect it to be perfectly onion-shaped in the end. Stick a fork in it and pass it around for everyone to enjoy. Enjoy it with a beer during a backyard BBQ. Perfect! My guests say it's so good, it's like candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
LOVE this! It was quick and easy and totally sweet and delicious. (in fact, it was *super* quick...it was done in about 30 minutes on my grill, not 45, so check yours before the time is up!) I made it exactly as the recipe stated, but I like that it could be easily customized with different herbs or spices. I took a suggestion from another reviewer and cut my onion in a soup ladle to keep from slicing through the whole thing...it worked perfectly! I'm looking forward to doing this one again....thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Fruit Skewers

Skewered strawberries, mangoes, papayas, and pineapples all excel on the grill.

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Balsamic Grilled Zucchini

Balsamic vinegar gives grilled zucchini delicious caramelized flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States