Grilled Onion Blossom Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
I like this recipeave found that if you soak the onion in ice water for 1/2 hour after cutting it. The onion will open up and hold its shape on the grill better. It will also help it to hold the spices in place while grilling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2002
This was great and easy. I prepared the onion before the guests came for a BBQ, and while everyone was chatting and getting drinks I threw the onions on the grill, when done I just took them from grill to table and everyone raved about them. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
YUMMY! Very easy to do. Put it on the grill and forget about it for 45 minutes! When I prepared it, I placed the onion in a soup ladle and cut it into eight wedges. Using the ladle helped to make the depth of each cut the same so it would hold it's shape. I soaked it in ice water for 1/2 hour, sprinkled with seasonings and placed butter on top so it will melt down between the pedals. Spray the tin foil with cooking spray. This will definitely be on our grill in the future. Thank you J.D.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2005
Spray your aluminum foil! :) My onion stuck to the foil once it started to carmalize. It was a hit with the family, however I added a good, fresh garlic powder from the spice shop to give it an added kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2003
I seasoned it up a little more with cajun seasoning mix and adobe vs. salt. Suggest putting it on second rack of grill to prevent burning the bottom (like I did) but still tasted great and VERY easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Delicious! I sprayed the foil with Pam and used lite butter along with minced garlic, rosemary, and thyme. Be sure to poke some holes in the foil or it will be a soggy mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
I loved this recipe! Though I only gave it four stars because it was a tiny bit bland. I think fresh minced garlic would give it more flavor. Maybe some olive oil too. Since it was winter when I cooked this recipe I used my oven and broiled it but it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2004
Very good. I didn't use garlic salt, instead I used a garlic clove and added some seasoning salt. Turned out exactly what we wanted. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
Wonderful! We all loved this. I altered the recipe just a little. I used a red onion. After slicing, I sprinkled with one packet of chicken boullion (instead of salt), one smashed clove of garlic and topped with Becel (margarine). After cooking and carefully unwrapping I was able to carefully transfer to a small bowl with a slotted spoon with the onion intact. I removed the garlic and poured the the cooking juice over the onion. It looked beautiful. It did completely fall apart with the first serving, but it disappeared so fast there was hardly time to notice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
LOVE this! It was quick and easy and totally sweet and delicious. (in fact, it was *super* quick...it was done in about 30 minutes on my grill, not 45, so check yours before the time is up!) I made it exactly as the recipe stated, but I like that it could be easily customized with different herbs or spices. I took a suggestion from another reviewer and cut my onion in a soup ladle to keep from slicing through the whole thing...it worked perfectly! I'm looking forward to doing this one again....thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Fruit Skewers

Skewered strawberries, mangoes, papayas, and pineapples all excel on the grill.

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Balsamic Grilled Zucchini

Balsamic vinegar gives grilled zucchini delicious caramelized flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States