Grilled Onion Blossom Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2002
This was great and easy. I prepared the onion before the guests came for a BBQ, and while everyone was chatting and getting drinks I threw the onions on the grill, when done I just took them from grill to table and everyone raved about them. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2003
I seasoned it up a little more with cajun seasoning mix and adobe vs. salt. Suggest putting it on second rack of grill to prevent burning the bottom (like I did) but still tasted great and VERY easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2004
Very good. I didn't use garlic salt, instead I used a garlic clove and added some seasoning salt. Turned out exactly what we wanted. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2004
I tried this out and found it tasted very good, but did not hold up well at all. My onion was a big soggy mess. I made sure to wrap it tightly in foil to keep it's shape, and was extremely careful when cutting the onion to make sure I had the "flower" shape. When we unwrapped it, it looked like the onion had exploded. Although we all enjoyed the flavor, we were somewhat disappointed at ending up with soggy grilled onion pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
I like this recipeave found that if you soak the onion in ice water for 1/2 hour after cutting it. The onion will open up and hold its shape on the grill better. It will also help it to hold the spices in place while grilling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
I loved this recipe! Though I only gave it four stars because it was a tiny bit bland. I think fresh minced garlic would give it more flavor. Maybe some olive oil too. Since it was winter when I cooked this recipe I used my oven and broiled it but it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2005
Spray your aluminum foil! :) My onion stuck to the foil once it started to carmalize. It was a hit with the family, however I added a good, fresh garlic powder from the spice shop to give it an added kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
We just came back from a camping trip and this was on the menu. We loved it! It was very tasty. I added a few things to this to make it sensational. I cut the onion up and added the butter, freshly chopped garlic cloves (we love garlic), a pinch of cayenne pepper, and a couple of grinds of a Cajun blend. Wrapped them in aluminum foil and threw them straight into the coals. Wow! We were impressed. We like it spicy and garlicky and we got just that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Idealnut
Home Town: Reykjavík, Höfuðborgarsvæði, Iceland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
Wonderful! We all loved this. I altered the recipe just a little. I used a red onion. After slicing, I sprinkled with one packet of chicken boullion (instead of salt), one smashed clove of garlic and topped with Becel (margarine). After cooking and carefully unwrapping I was able to carefully transfer to a small bowl with a slotted spoon with the onion intact. I removed the garlic and poured the the cooking juice over the onion. It looked beautiful. It did completely fall apart with the first serving, but it disappeared so fast there was hardly time to notice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
I thought it was barely edible. It didn't seem to have any real flavor and I didn't care for the texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Fruit Skewers

Skewered strawberries, mangoes, papayas, and pineapples all excel on the grill.

Grilled Baked Potatoes

A delicious combination of baked and grilled potatoes in one dish.

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States