Grilled Onion Blossom Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I used granulated garlic and seasoned salt instead of garlic salt. I also added Worcestershire sauce and a crushed chicken bouillon cube. Placed the foil wrapped onion in a hot bed of coals in the camp fire pit. It was like having French onion soup without the cheese and crust of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
This was SO GOOD. We made it to put on our burgers! The onion is so soft an tasty. I wasn't expecting so much flavor. This is great when you're already planning to grill out - you can put it on the grill before you start. So easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
I love this versatile recipe. Always put the onion on the grill first--the foil really retains the heat so it can sit a few minutes while you finish cooking the steaks. I use small onions, the kind you find in the 5 lb. onion bag, when I forget to start the cookout with the onion on the grill however the cook time is 20 minutes or less. The new non-stick grilling aluminum foil works really well so you don't have to coat the inside of the foil with butter or non-stick spray. A few variations of this recipe are: 1T. brown sugar, 1 1/2T. butter, and 1T. worchestersauce, ground black pepper-no garlic salt OR 1T. brown sugar, 1 1/2T. butter, 1T. soy sauce-no garlic salt OR 1T. brown sugar, 1 1/2T. butter, 1T. steak sauce (vidalla onion steak sauce is a crowd pleaser), and ground black pepper-no garlic salt. The recipe variations result in a brownish-colored onion not as pictured in this recipe however, this is such a simple addition to a great steak dinner or it's even great on grilled sausage or brats. I haven't tried soaking the onion in water yet. Happy grilling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
These were delicious. I served them with steak. Used garlic pepper instead of garlic salt and black pepper. We'll be enjoying these many more times. I think of so many things they will be good with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MN Nice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biwabik, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Virginia, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I used the fancy garlic salt from Penzey's and it was yummy! My onions cooked in less than 45 minutes on high heat. Way less time. Like 25 minutes or less (I wasn't keeping track).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Vidalia onions are in season, and this recipe made them taste like sugar they were so sweet! I basically did exactly as the recipe read, but used the already mixed garlic pepper. I had planned to soak the onion as some suggested, but I forgot... I think since they were Vidalias and pretty sweet, it didn't really matter. We only had them on the grill for about 30 mins or so and they were very tender and sweet. I sprayed the foil well, so there was no sticking. So good and easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris K in Wisconsin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cary, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sauk City, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Oddly enough, ours burnt on the side where I spilled too much garlic salt, and only there. Very odd. But delicious, and the burning is user error entirely. This is a simple seasoning, and you could dress it up to suit your menu. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
This is very easy and attractive. The onion comes out tender and delicious, however I wish I had added additional seasonings. I followed other reviewers’ suggestion and soaked it in ice water for 30 minutes and also buttered the foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
LOVE this! It was quick and easy and totally sweet and delicious. (in fact, it was *super* quick...it was done in about 30 minutes on my grill, not 45, so check yours before the time is up!) I made it exactly as the recipe stated, but I like that it could be easily customized with different herbs or spices. I took a suggestion from another reviewer and cut my onion in a soup ladle to keep from slicing through the whole thing...it worked perfectly! I'm looking forward to doing this one again....thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Yummy! A few changes I like to make: Instead of placing the seasonings inside of the onion, I sprinkle it all on top and allow it to melt down. I also add quite a bit of seasoned salt on top for a little kick and extra flavor. Don't expect it to be perfectly onion-shaped in the end. Stick a fork in it and pass it around for everyone to enjoy. Enjoy it with a beer during a backyard BBQ. Perfect! My guests say it's so good, it's like candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Fruit Skewers

Skewered strawberries, mangoes, papayas, and pineapples all excel on the grill.

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Balsamic Grilled Zucchini

Balsamic vinegar gives grilled zucchini delicious caramelized flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States