Grilled Onion Bloom Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
This was yummy with my rice pilaf and bbq chicken this last weekend. I used a vadalia sweet onion and it was perfect, the sauce that formed was delicious too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
I prepared this as instructed in the recipe with the exception of using dried herbs, which is what I had on hand. I also added one clove of minced garlic and melted the drizzling butter with a little leftover bacon fat (OMG! So yummy). The onion came out perfectly crisp-tender. Served this with grilled rib eye steaks and baked potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
Made this with fresh herbs from the garden on top of a sweet red onion. Cooked on a charcoal fire so left the top of foil opened just a bit to get the charcoal flavor. I also think it kept the onion from getting mushy. My husband really loved this, but I think I prefer a bit of crisp to my onions. We usually just grill our onion slices right on the grill, I like that much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Photo by FrackFamily5
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
pretty darn good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
This is delicious! We make it all the time and our friends actually request it when we grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crund

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
I was looking for a side dish to grill with Italian sausage and pork chops, and this turned out great. I mixed all the herbs into the butter and then brushed that over the onion before grilling. This went great with the grilled meats!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
I tried this in the oven and it just took entirely too long to minimize the raw test. Then, I tried it on the grill... It tastes great, but still too raw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altus, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
These are some of the best grilled onions we've had on this site. They go great with grilled steak! I added a little olive oil to the melted butter as well as some fresh minced garlic. I used fresh rosemary, but had to use dry thyme because I didn't have fresh. Measure the herbs to your tastes. The combination of rosemary and thyme works very well and gives this a very nice herbed flavor. Be sure to poke a few holes in the foil on the top to let air escape so that it doesn't end up mushy, but rather a nice onion bloom that doesn't fall apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2009
This was not very good. I did this exactly as suggested and it was mush when I took it off the grill. The flavor was bitter and, in my opinion, calls for too much of the herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
We had this at a dinner party and it went over well. I think I could have cooked it longer, but it became tender-crisp after the 16 minutes I needed to cook my marinated london broil. It went well with the grilled beef and I would definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Craig

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States