Grilled Okra Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
My family really enjoyed this quick and easy recipe. After placing the orka on the grill, I brushed on the melted butter and sprinkled on the cajun spice. We will make this a regular dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
YUM! The char-grilled taste was wonderful. I found the flavor was better with just a little butter and just slight sprinkling of seasoning. Rolling it in seasoning made it just a little too strong. We used Tony Chachere's original creole seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
so easy and really tasty - we loved the crispy outside and soft inside of the okra
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
I've been grilling okra for years - we love the whole pods (much easier preparation) grilled with olive oil and coarse salt and pepper. Love the cajun seasoning idea!!! Adds zip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
this is great! the okra gets caramelized and almost burnt... sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pasadena, Texas, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
This is a wonderful way to prepare okra or any type of squash I'd imagine. I took other reviewers suggestions into account. I poured the butter over in in a bowl and added about 1/8 cup creole seasonings. The grilled charred taste is awesome. Thanks for a simple recipe that tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stasia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sonora, California, USA
Living In: Snelling, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
What a refreshing new way to eat okra! I just brushed butter on them and sprinkled some "Slap ya Mama" cajun seasoning on some garden fresh okra-so easy and good. My whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Grilled okra is a summertime regular at my house and I have found a MUCH better way to grill them. Lay 5 or 6 of them out side to side. I alternate the direction of each one so they fit nicely against one another. Then take bamboo skewers and run all the way though them. Put 2 skewers about an inch apart through each bunch of okra forming a sort of raft. Brush on butter and seasoning and grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Amazing recipe and a convenient relief to having to fry/pickle all the okra from a garden. Sprinkling the seasoning is more my wife and my pace...And I hate to say this (since fried okra is one of my favorite foods) but this recipe definitely rivals fired okra!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bristol, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
this was just awesome!! we were thrilled that there is no slime. just great flavor. it's best to use the smaller more tender okra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Corn on the Cob

This simple grilling method yields perfect corn every time.

How to Make Grilled Fruit Skewers

Skewered strawberries, mangoes, papayas, and pineapples all excel on the grill.

Grilled Asian Asparagus

A super-simple Asian-inspired marinade makes grilled asparagus special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States