Grilled Okra Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Love this!!! I didn't exactly use cajun seasoning, but I used Big Green Egg seasoning that I normally put on my veggies and this wsa great. Yum!! Who knew okra could taste so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
YUM! This recipe was so simple and soooooo good. I put the okra on skewers and brushed it with melted butter, then sprinkled with seasoning. AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clayzzle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gainesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
We like okra most any it can be cooked, but hadn't tried it grilled. After trying it grilled, I would have to say it is now our new favorite way to prepare okra. It is outstanding and really easy. We didn't bother with the skewers. We just tossed them into a grilling basket and cooked them until they were good and brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Turned into a "must have" when we are grilling outdoors!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
This is great! I was worried about 'slime', but there was none after a light charring. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
This is definitely my new favorite vegetable dish...seriously delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wineandwhine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: College Station, Texas, USA
Living In: Victoria, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
1/4c cajun spices in 1/4c oil thickened it too much so added addt'l 1/4c oil. I didn't weigh okra, but had a cookie sheet full. Yup, foil lined it & baked it@425, 20minutes, turn, 20 more. Tasted after first 20, almost done, soft, cajun seasoning is pretty salty. Lessons learned: Since the spices thicken the oil, too much stays on initially. The oil then bakes off & okra won't get crisp sitting in oil. Using butter, I thought it would burn too fast; & didn't want to waste it if it wasn't good anyway. Oil isn't so expensive. :) Sooo, if we have too much okra next year, I'll toss the okra in oil without the spices in it. Then sprinkle them on once on the pan & again after turning. I let it sit in the oven passed the second twenty with the heat off & it wasn't so pretty; but, again, we could eat it & the saltiness wasn't too much - just more than I expected compared to the hot cajun taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Best okra I have ever had! I did use a charcoal grill with mesquite wood chips, which gave it a great smoky flavor. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
Yum!!! This was a great way to eat okra. In the past, the only way I liked it was pickled. Mine took a little longer to char than the recipe advises. More like 6 or 8 minutes on each side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
did it on skewers. better than I could of ever thought
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nitrobassett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Corn on the Cob

This simple grilling method yields perfect corn every time.

How to Make Grilled Fruit Skewers

Skewered strawberries, mangoes, papayas, and pineapples all excel on the grill.

Grilled Asian Asparagus

A super-simple Asian-inspired marinade makes grilled asparagus special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States