Grilled Mongolian Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
One of the most amazing recipes I've made personally, I've made quite a few off this site and this blows all of them away. followed the recipe as is and it turned out perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chili Dogma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Great marinade! I thought the sauce was phenomenal but my husband found it to be too thick and sweet tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
My rating is just for the pork chop marinade and not the mustard sauce. I had three fat boneless sirloin chops and this made more marinade than we needed. I didn't have Sherry vinegar, so used plain Sherry wine instead, and I added some toasted sesame seeds. The chops marinated all day in the refrigerator. We grilled our pork sirloins over charcoal and the thick rich marinade gave such a wonderful finger lickin flavorful crust to the juicy tender meat inside. I think this would be great on chicken also. I will try the mustard sauce at another time, just didn't have all the ingredients for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
Far and away the best marinade I've made including quite a few good marinades from this site. This is in a class by itself. Exceptional flavor that I could easily see using on chicken and beef as well. The marinade was so simple, just assemble and measure a variety of ingredients and grate a little ginger. The only challenge was obtaining all the ingredients as there were a few our rural grocer didn't have that I ordered from Amazon (got free shipping when had enough stuff for $25). The mustard sauce was good though it took a little more easy effort. But it's the marinade that rocked our boat. However, I agree with other reviewers that using both the marinade and the mustard sauce is well worthwhile and a great counterpoint. And the chops were so tender and moist even though we used a good though not high end cut of pork chops. While I added a few things to the pantry that we weren't familiar with, we liked each one and will use them all in this and other dishes. So for those having to add a few items to the pantry, these ingredients are not one trick ponies. For those who are likewise unfamiliar with Hoisin sauce, it is like a thick, not so salty, teriyaki. Of course, the marinade altered it into something immeasurably better. It was a happy learning experience and a dining delight. This is a blue ribbon winner. My husband and I would happily give more stars if such were possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by melissacraddock
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
Visually this should receive 5 stars but because I wasn't very impressed with the finished product I had to knock it back to 3 stars. The sauce was delicious but the meat was not overly flavorful. My advice would be to make extra sauce for dipping. Pork is so dense that it's difficult for marinades to soak through very deep and that was the problem with this (and all pork dishes) in my opinion. It looked sooooo good when it came off the grill but the flavor was a disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissacraddock

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
This turned out exceptional. Make sure you don't over cook. I tppk them off when my meat probe said 140 degrees. Followed recipe as is and a all that was left were the bones. Made it for six and all asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SteveNSac

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
My rating is for the marinade only since I didn't make the sauce. Since I only used two small boneless pork chops I reduced the amount of ingredients by 1/4 and made modifictions based on what I had on hand and the short (less than an hour) marinating time I had. I substituted powdered garlic and ginger for the fresh since they pack more of a punch in short marinating times. I substituted apple cider vinegar for the combo as written and I used agave instead of sugar because it has a less sweet taste. I eliminated the pepper since I thought the other ingredients added enough flavor. I don't have an outdoor grill so I cooked these on my electric countertop grill for about 8 minutes. These were very tasty and moist. I served this with a saute of green beans, mushrooms and garlic topped with toasted sesame seeds to continue the Asian theme. Will definitely use this marinade again and try it with chicken and tofu as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
I have made this several times already and I just had to comment. Don't be thrown off by how many ingredients there are, they all work beautifully together and the taste is amazing. don't try to add more or take away anything. you will NOT be disappointed! TIP: if you are using the think chops marinate overnight and remember to turn them or if using the bag option, adjust the chops in the bag, several times. i use boneless chops about an inch thick ( i have small kids and its just what we buy lol) the flavor is amazing. USE the sauce. creme fraiche is hard to come by where i live so I use sour cream. (not saying this works for dessert, it will separate, but in this it does.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tabitha Johnson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
OOohh!! Have a similar recipe for the pork; but the mustard sauce was da bomb!! Thanks Chef John!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Temple Hills, Maryland, USA
Living In: Orange, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
These chops were packed with such delicious flavor! My chops were 2" thick. Next time I will use chops about an inch thick. I marinated it for 24 hours and cooked it in a grill pan on top of the stove finishing it for 20 mins. in the oven. Very juicy. The mustard sauce was to die for! I will always keep the ingredients for this recipe in my pantry for chops as well as chicken breasts. I also will always keep this mustard sauce in my fridge. It would be so delicious on many foods. The only changes I made were to substitute parsley for cilantro and plain greek yogurt for the creme fraiche in the mustard sauce. Many reviewers stated that the chops were so flavorful without the sauce. While this is true, the mustard sauce really knocks it out of the park! Definitely give this a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Pork Loin Chops

Watch how to marinate and grill pork loin chops.

Grilled Brown Sugar Pork Chops

Sweet and juicy, brown sugar pork chops.

Best Grilled Pork Chops

See how to make juicy, flavorful grilled pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States