Grilled Mongolian Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Great marinade! I thought the sauce was phenomenal but my husband found it to be too thick and sweet tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
OOohh!! Have a similar recipe for the pork; but the mustard sauce was da bomb!! Thanks Chef John!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Temple Hills, Maryland, USA
Living In: Orange, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
This turned out exceptional. Make sure you don't over cook. I tppk them off when my meat probe said 140 degrees. Followed recipe as is and a all that was left were the bones. Made it for six and all asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SteveNSac

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
My family loved these pork chops! awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
My rating is for the marinade only since I didn't make the sauce. Since I only used two small boneless pork chops I reduced the amount of ingredients by 1/4 and made modifictions based on what I had on hand and the short (less than an hour) marinating time I had. I substituted powdered garlic and ginger for the fresh since they pack more of a punch in short marinating times. I substituted apple cider vinegar for the combo as written and I used agave instead of sugar because it has a less sweet taste. I eliminated the pepper since I thought the other ingredients added enough flavor. I don't have an outdoor grill so I cooked these on my electric countertop grill for about 8 minutes. These were very tasty and moist. I served this with a saute of green beans, mushrooms and garlic topped with toasted sesame seeds to continue the Asian theme. Will definitely use this marinade again and try it with chicken and tofu as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
One of the most amazing recipes I've made personally, I've made quite a few off this site and this blows all of them away. followed the recipe as is and it turned out perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chili Dogma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
My rating is just for the pork chop marinade and not the mustard sauce. I had three fat boneless sirloin chops and this made more marinade than we needed. I didn't have Sherry vinegar, so used plain Sherry wine instead, and I added some toasted sesame seeds. The chops marinated all day in the refrigerator. We grilled our pork sirloins over charcoal and the thick rich marinade gave such a wonderful finger lickin flavorful crust to the juicy tender meat inside. I think this would be great on chicken also. I will try the mustard sauce at another time, just didn't have all the ingredients for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Amazing! Fantastic! Made a few substitutions, but it didn't matter to outcome. Thought I had rice vinegar, but didn't, so had to sub. Found Mirin in the pantry (Japanese sweeten sake, made from rice wine), so used that insead of rice vinegar and did not add the sugar called for, since it was sweetened already. Also, couldn't find sherry vinegar, so used cider vinegar. For the dipping sauce, used sour cream instead of creme fraiche. Marinated pork chops overnight and hubby grilled them in his kamado grill. Made a great Father's Day meal! Served with grilled corn and braised cabbage. PS. You gotta watch Chef John's video...he is a hoot (as well as a talented chef)! Note: The mustard sauce balances the sweetness of the the marinade...it's a must have for the complete experience! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cloud9

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mandeville, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
This was great! I dont usually eat pork at all, but this recipe made me want to try it again. Im also not usually a fan of foo foo sauce person, but the sauce actually made the pork taste even better! I mean just in the marinade alone they tasted great, but the sauce just added even more flavor to them! I really enjoyed this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Pork Chops

See how to make a sensational marinade for grilled pork chops.

Tropical Grilled Pork Chops

Grilled marinated pork chops are topped with a spicy pineapple-mango salsa.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States