Grilled Mongolian Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
I thought this was excellent! I especially liked the mustard sauce and have used it on other things ------ cheese and crackers, sausage. I didn't have sherry vinegar but it was fine. I will definitely make it again. The grill time was fine for me but my spouse who likes all things well-done would have grilled his longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
This was an excellent marinade for babyback pork ribs. After baking marinated ribs in the oven for 2.5 hours at 300 degrees (wrap pan tightly with foil) - then drain the fat and apply a glaze to make them look appetizing. When guests arrived, we then did a short grilling on the outdoor grill and basted with more of the marinade before serving. Everyone raved! Didn't use the other sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
This is the best mouth-watering tender piece of meat. Make sure that you let the meat rest before cutting to retain the juices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
Far and away the best marinade I've made including quite a few good marinades from this site. This is in a class by itself. Exceptional flavor that I could easily see using on chicken and beef as well. The marinade was so simple, just assemble and measure a variety of ingredients and grate a little ginger. The only challenge was obtaining all the ingredients as there were a few our rural grocer didn't have that I ordered from Amazon (got free shipping when had enough stuff for $25). The mustard sauce was good though it took a little more easy effort. But it's the marinade that rocked our boat. However, I agree with other reviewers that using both the marinade and the mustard sauce is well worthwhile and a great counterpoint. And the chops were so tender and moist even though we used a good though not high end cut of pork chops. While I added a few things to the pantry that we weren't familiar with, we liked each one and will use them all in this and other dishes. So for those having to add a few items to the pantry, these ingredients are not one trick ponies. For those who are likewise unfamiliar with Hoisin sauce, it is like a thick, not so salty, teriyaki. Of course, the marinade altered it into something immeasurably better. It was a happy learning experience and a dining delight. This is a blue ribbon winner. My husband and I would happily give more stars if such were possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
After making this recipe, my family thinks I am the most amazing cook! :) My in laws say they've never tasted such tender and delicious pork! Everyone was licking their fingers and fighting for the last piece of meat. We used this on ribs, the longer you marinate the better (I've made it twice now) I also substituted the sugar with honey and it was delicious, I also did not have the sherry vinegar so just skipped it, it was still absolutely amazing! Everyone asks me now to make "my" amazing marinade! ;) Shhhh! Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by melissacraddock
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
Visually this should receive 5 stars but because I wasn't very impressed with the finished product I had to knock it back to 3 stars. The sauce was delicious but the meat was not overly flavorful. My advice would be to make extra sauce for dipping. Pork is so dense that it's difficult for marinades to soak through very deep and that was the problem with this (and all pork dishes) in my opinion. It looked sooooo good when it came off the grill but the flavor was a disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissacraddock

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Everyone enjoyed these pork chops; the mustard sauce would also be good with egg rolls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Excellent Pork Chops - tender and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
I was looking for a last minute idea for dinner and Chef's Johns recipes are always easy to make. These were by far the best pork chops I have ever made. I did not have the sherry vinegar, so I replaced it with dry sherry. Remember to only add as much heat/spice as your family enjoys. I also only had time for the chops to marinade three-hours. Grilled them using the indirect heat on a gas grill, basting them several times, for about 25-30 minutes. The family said they were the best they ever had. The chops look beautiful and tasted even better. I served them with the dipping sauce. We thought the sauce was good, but not necessary, the chops were just perfect without any dipping sauces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Amazing! Best pork chops ever! I didn't have the ingredients to do the mustard sauce, but the marinade was great. I cooked them inside on a grill pan and used thick cut chops. A new family gave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Brown Sugar Pork Chops

Sweet and juicy, brown sugar pork chops.

How to Make Grilled Pork Chops

See how to make a sensational marinade for grilled pork chops.

Tropical Grilled Pork Chops

Grilled marinated pork chops are topped with a spicy pineapple-mango salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States