Grilled Mexican Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2007
This was so juicy and had so much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
I did use 1/4 c of the preground cumin instead of the seed as suggested by TeaChef. I also substituted the fresh jalepenos for the jar jalepenos and used about 3/4 cup, because that is what I had on hand at the time. Beware the cilantro, 2 bunches is a little vague for me. Somehow I interpreted this as two whole bunches from the grocery store. However in my area we are blessed with some pretty large bunches. I used about a 1/4 of one of my bunches and it was very thick and very, very green. I was concerned that perhaps I had ruined the recipe, but after scraping off the marinade and grilling my family really loved it. My suggestion is to add the cilantro to the food processor slowly until you get the consistency you like. Good recipe though, easy and well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toasty Mama
Photo by JONESCLAN
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
We loved it! I was a little worried that it would be too hot for my younger children with 5 jalepenos, but it was perfect. I made the marinade and marinated it for 3 days. I used the ground cumin also and I used petite sirloins. I grilled it a little longer on my indoor grill- close to 15 minutes on each side- and it was still pretty pink on the inside. I served it with Mexican Rice II. I uploaded a photo to share with everyone too. It was a great change from a traditional steak. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JONESCLAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caldwell, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
This was magnificent! Everyone raved. Only change I made was using 1/4 cup of pre-ground cumin since I didn't have any of the seed. The blender was already out, so used it instead of the food processer. I marinated the steak for 24hrs. Served it along with grilled peppers and onion, a salad of chunked cucumber, tomatoes and minced red onion and MORE cilantro tossed in PaulNewman's new Light Lime Viniagrette, and finally AllRecipe's "Sweet Corn Cake" recipe. Umm, ummmm good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
This recipe is awesome!!! I used flank steak and marinaded it for 48 hours, then cooked it on the grill. I did not have the cilantro, but used everything else. The steak was surprisingly tender for flank steak and had so much flavor. I will definitely be using this one again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vassar, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wetumpka, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
this marinade was delicious - i did not strictly follow the quantities but you don't have to - the ingredients are so fresh and the combo is absolutely delicious. also - and most importantly to a member of the instant gratification generation - the steak was perfect after marinading for ONLY 4 hours!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
After reading the reviews, I did adjust the amount of cilantro, but still ended up with lots of marinade, but that was no issue. It looked like Martian food when I went to grill it, but smelled terrific and even the non red meat eaters enjoyed. We used top sirloin grilling stake as I am not sure what skirt or flank is, must be localized word for the same thing. We did use pre-ground cumin to save time, the result was fantastic! thanks TA91!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYROY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
Made for Cinco de Mayo -- and got rave reviews from the entire crowd. I used a london broil instead of skirt steak. Kept the rest of the recipe the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lons65

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pike Creek, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
Excellent recipe! My family loves this recipe. The leftovers are awesome cut-up on a salad the next day. We use 2 or 3 jalapenos rather than 5 and a 1/4 c pre-ground cumin. We use whatever hunk of meat is the cheapest that week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
Nice recipe, of course Imade some changes to suit my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Ellwood City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Grilled Garlic Fennel Flank Steak with Oranges

See how to make flavorful flank steak with grilled oranges.

Grilled Garlic Steak with Garlic

See how to make an amazing double-garlic steak on the grill.

Chef John's Grilled Flap Steak

See how to grill a thin, inexpensive cut of beef for salads, sandwiches, & tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States