Grilled Mahi Mahi with Roasted Pepper Sauce and Cilantro Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
This was excellent! I made it using what I had on hand. I did not have jarred bell peppers on hand. I had fresh mini bell peppers - a mixture of red, orange, and yellow. I roasted them myself and used those for the sauce. I also did not have any shallots, but the sauce was still very good. I can't wait to try it with the shallots next time! For the pesto sauce...I have a basil plant, so I made basil pesto using my regular pesto recipe. We made grilled asparagus to serve on the side. This will definitely be made again throughout the summer. My 4 year old even said "This is amazing, mommy!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah
Home Town: Repulse Bay, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong
Living In: Eagle Mountain, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
fabulous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
An excellent dish. My wife and I eat fish at least twice a week and always look for varied ways to enhance the fish. The smoky flavor of the sauce coupled with the pesto was a perfect fit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Great dish!!!! This worked out wonderfully for us. I worked on the sauces whil my husband preheated the grill & did the fish. He doesn't like red peppers, so he was happy there were 2 different sauces! We both LOVED it! I love pesto anyway, and this was yummy. I love the garlic in it. Didn't have walnuts, so I used pecans. Other than that, I followed the recipe. I will plan on making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
This was phenomenal! It was restaurant-quality food made right in my own kitchen. I'm on a cilantro kick, so the pesto was absolutely perfect. Even my fish-wary husband begged me to make it again, "just the same way." Thanks for a fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
I was a bit disappointed with this recipe. Both the sauce and pesto were bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
Probably is "restaurant" quality overall. Beautiful presentation & great flavor. A lot of the cost is in the shallot/pepper sauce but the real winning flavor is in the cilantro pesto. But sauces are complimentary, both in flavor & in presentation. Make both sauces ahead if possible, seasoning both to taste adding salt & sugar to red sauce to alleviate slight bland, bitterness as other reviewers mentioned. Grill fish, reheat sauces & serve immediately as warm as possible on warm plates! We served this with a nice rice pilaf & roasted mixed vegetables....talk about a colorful, healthy plate! Very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
This was pretty good. I found the pepper sauce to be quite bitter and a bit bland, so I added a bit of sugar to cut it and a low sodium chicken bouillon cube. I also made it a few days ahead of time (unexpectedly didn't use it immediately) and the flavor had much improved. I used regular pesto that I had on hand and the dish came out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
This recipe was great without the roasted pepper sauce. I'll try it with both the sauce and the pesto sometime, but I'm glad I tried it out with just the pesto (I didn't have roasted red peppers on hand). It had a great fresh taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Good. Will saute garlic with shallot next time.Raw is to strong in pesto
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Mahi Mahi with Spicy Mango Sauce

See how to make a quick Thai-influenced fish dish on the grill.

Grilled Sea Bass with Chili-Lime Dressing

See how to make quick-and-easy, Asian-inspired grilled sea bass.

Grilled Tuna with Fresh Horseradish

See how to make grilled tuna that just explodes with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States