Grilled Mahi Mahi with Roasted Pepper Sauce and Cilantro Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
We were slightly disappointed with this recipe. We followed the recipe pretty closely, using home roasted red peppers and subbing half a red onion for the shallot. We grilled the mahi mahi on our Cuisinart Griddler. We thought the red pepper puree to be lacking and didn't go with the cilantro pesto on top (I loved the taste of it by itself and I will make in the future for other dishes). Overall, this was not a cohesive dish and we won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Perth Amboy, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
I made it exactly as written. Beautiful, tasty meal that was healthy! I served with yellow saffron rice and sauteed vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MO girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA
Living In: Manhattan, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
Delicious! I don't have a food processor, so I used my blender and it worked just fine. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
THis was terrific.... I also messed up by putting the pesto into the pepper sauce. But it turned out fantastic.... Great sauce....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RugbyChica
Reviewed: May 14, 2011
FANTASTIC! My husband and I loved it. I was worried at first reading the different flavors that would all be mixed together, but this was amazing! I'm so glad I have leftovers! I also made quinoa and used that as a base for the meal instead of rice. While the quinoa was cooking I put a little of the red pepper sauce in with it to help flavor it more, then put it on the plate with some more of the red pepper sauce on top of that, the fillet and then the pesto. Tasted great, and had some char-grilled veggies on the side. I will totally make this again! My minor changes are as follows: 1-added a little more garlic and ground pepper to the pesto since my husband and I like those flavors a lot 2-used pecans instead of walnuts because that is what I had on hand 3-dried the fish fillets before putting some pepper and salt over it, let it sit over night and basted the fillets with olive oil right before grilling to keep the fish moist 4-I roasted the peppers myself instead of using a jar of roasted red peppers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RugbyChica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
Yummy! Changed a few things to use what I had on hand. Used regular onion instead of shallot - not sure if that made a difference or not. The pesto was really garlic-y, so a little goes a long way! I also used almonds and pecans because I didn't have walnuts. For the sauce, I roasted one red bell pepper instead of using a jar - still made plenty. Baked the fish so I didn't have to drag out the grill. I'm sure the grill flavor would only add to the yumminess! We served it with white rice made with olive oil and added cilantro. Looks fancy, tastes delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I thought this was a good recipe and I was also glad that I had all of the ingredients on hand. I cut the recipe in half but still would have liked a little more pesto. I made some changes to the recipe though and I think it made a nice difference. 1.) I baked the Mahi Mahi 2.) I added pine nuts to the pesto and not walnuts...Some were ground up and some I kept whole. 3.) For the red pepper sauce I added some cumin, paprika, chili powder and a few shakes of crushed red pepper. That really gave the sauce the "pep" that I think some people were looking for. My husband and I loved this recipe and I will surely make the sauces again for other dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Very pretty recipe and super easy to make. My lucky 7 year old ate it without complaining and the 5 year old gobbled it up. Cilantro was a nice flavor, but the pepper sauce was a little bland. Minor tweaking there would make this a five star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Nichol Thomas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA
Living In: Antelope, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Didn't change a thing and it was awesome. My boyfriend and I grilled the mahi mahi in a grill pan, and served it with roasted baby red potatoes with margarine and rosemary, and with grilled asparagus (brushed with olive oil, sprinkled with salt and pepper, and then kept warm in the oven, with a little shredded parmesan cheese on top and covered while the fish cooked). Pretty and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
This is a very good and delicious recipe for any white fish. The sauces both are delicious and supplement each other very well. In my opinion, the recipe makes a little less pesto, so next time I would double the proportions. I didn`t have a grill, so baked my fish, it was very delicious too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Mahi Mahi with Spicy Mango Sauce

See how to make a quick Thai-influenced fish dish on the grill.

Grilled Sea Bass with Chili-Lime Dressing

See how to make quick-and-easy, Asian-inspired grilled sea bass.

Grilled Tuna with Fresh Horseradish

See how to make grilled tuna that just explodes with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States