Grilled Leftover Ham and Pineapple Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
This is AWESOME! I did change it a bit personal taste, but I'm rating it anyway because it would work w/any personal preference cheese/bread combinations. I'm not a fan of cream cheese, so I used provolone for me (and American for Mr. LTH). I used 12 grain bread for mine (and pumpernickel for Mr. LTH). Outstanding! I've been on a ham, pineapple and onion pizza kick, so this was a much more figure friendly way to feed that craving (and I'll add some onion next time, too!). THANKS for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
Don't be fooled by how simple this sandwich is, it's fantastic! I used whipped cream cheese to keep from tearing up the bread but other than that I made them exactly as written. Served with the Topical Salad from this site which also has pineapple in it and it made for a wonderfully flavorful and light sandwich and salad dinner. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by queenvalerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
This is my new favorite thing to eat when I need a quick meal. I've been using cold meat ham because I don't have leftover ham. I don't measure the cream cheese, just cover 1 side of 1 piece of bread. I also use whipped cream cheese after reading some other reviews here. I've already had this 3 times in 4 days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by diana

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
Just based on how my kids inhaled these AND loved them, I give it a five. I didn't have sliced pineapple, just crushed pineapple. I used a 1/2 cup of crushed pineapple that I drained the crud out of and mixed it with the cream cheese. I did end up adding just a little more cream cheese, but not much. My kids fell in love with this, as did I because it used what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I will definitely make it again. I did modify it by making it more french toast style. Just whisk up an egg w/ a little milk and dip the bread in... not too soaked though! Very yummy this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
Boy oh boy, this was good! I used "Texas Toast" style bread (white bread, very thick slices)and to be honest, I didn't measure the cream cheese ... just smeared it on each side of the bread. The I added ham and pineapple, buttered the bread and grilled it like grilled cheese. OMG! SO SO good. A GREAT way to use up ham. Very filling, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraAnne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
Very good, thanks for this! To make things even easier you can use the pineapple flavored cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
These are SO good! Next time I might use pineapple tidbits to make it easier to eat. I will be making these every time I have leftover ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
I don't know how you came up with this combo, but I am so glad you did! I used sourdough bread, but did everything else the same. This was melt in my mouth delicious! I will be eating A LOT of these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEENBEAN

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Midland Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Great sandwich, interesting taste, but in a good way! Used wheat bread, as I don't keep white bread in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States