Grilled Indian Pork Kabobs with Sweet Onions and Red Bell Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Fabulous! This was so good and the blend of spices complemented each other perfectly with a nice subtle kick from the cayenne. Definitely a welcome change from so many other pork kabob recipes we've tried to date. I used pork tenderloin that I pierced with a fork before tossing in the marinade. And, while this is essentially a marinde it adheres to the pork and forms a paste. For the marinade I didn't change a thing! While others added cardamom I found that it's quite an expensive ingredient and if you don't have it on hand this is quite good without it. I let the pork marinate for about 6 hours and skewered the veggies separate from the meat as they cook at different rates. This smelled wonderful and tasted even better -even my picky husband loved it! I couldn't resist making a dipping sauce for this: 1 cup of low fat plain yogurt, 1/2 cup Hellman's light mayo, 3 cloves minced garlic, and 1/4 tsp. of salt (set in the fridge for a couple hours). This went great with a side of couscous - a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Used this for pork tenderloins. It's not really a paste but more a marinade. Added cardamon and nonfat yogurt to the marinade. Roasted in 400 degree oven for 25 mins. Excellent and the kids loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ken from CA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camarillo, California, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Wonderful marinade, followed the recipe exactly. Don't be afraid of the quantities of the spices- looks like a lot, but they are perfect. The lemon juice did a nice job of tenderizing the meat. I'm going to try it with boneless chicken breast next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Raquel Teixeira
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
A-M-A-Z-I-N-G! I say that with such enthusiasm because I actually didn't change anything about this. If anything my idea of a tsp is a little heavy but that's always the case. The pork was so wonderfully tender and moist and the spices were fantastic. Thanks so much!!! I made it with a side of spicy sweet potatoes. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raquel Teixeira

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Delicious and easy to make. To give it a more authentic Indian flavor, I added 1 tbsp of ground cardamom. Would definitely make again, maybe using chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Made these tonight with terriaki chicken kabobs and rice pilaf (we have a large family). These were a hit with my, DH and the kids. I usually just marinate pork in italian dressing but these were fantastic! Thank you for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KSAZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Imlay City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
I've used this marinade for grilled pork chops and I made wings with it. It was awesome both times!I didn't even have to marinade the wings for a long time and they were so full of flavor. This is going to become a family staple because I can't seem to get enough of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
Pretty good, but a little salty. I'd suggest cutting the salt in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Five stars for this marinade, it's out of this world! These were very tasty, and I prepared exactly as written. The pork is a little tough, hard to get it tender even with lots of marinade in a short cooking time on the grill. Next time I will prepare this recipe with chicken. Thanks for sharing, NPB!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
a little salty, don't know where the salt taste came from also used fresh pienapple with rest of ingred.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ed.Dolanski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Pork Tacos al Pastor

Pineapple juice, chiles, and spices make a terrific marinade for grilled pork.

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Grilled Jerk Pork Tenderloin

See how to use jerk spices to make perfect jerk pork tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States