Grilled Hot Turkey Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Melissa Wilson Martin
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I thought the sourdough was a little tough for making a nicely melted sandwich. My turkey was at room temperature when I bit into it shortly after pulling it off the stove. My bread wasn't sliced thick either. My husband complained about the mayo, too much, and never even realized it had salsa in it. So make sure you don't use a mild salsa. I also think I will use good old American Cheese singles to make the sandwich gooier. It has a ton of potential though, and I might consider trying it again. The three stars are more that it was quite edible, but needs adjustment for MY family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Wilson Martin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Payson, Utah, USA
Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
This sandwich was dinner for the kids with homemade tomato soup. I followed the recipe closely, only scaling the recipe back to two sandwiches, I used whole wheat bread and I cooked the sandwiches in my cast iron skillet. I was a little concerned that the kids wouldn't like them but they both thought this was the best sandwich EVER. They both asked for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Excellent twist on a turkey sandwich! I made mine in the George Foreman grill and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: May 21, 2009
Wonderfully spicy, I loved the flaovrs in this one. I used Miracle Whip and Old El Paso picante salsa, black peppered smoked turkey and some chili powder and freeze dried chives. This had wonderful flavor. The only difficulty was eating it as I used sandwich bread and the sauce made the turkey tend to want to slip out and not stay in place while trying to eat this. What a great sandwich! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Exceptional! Way more than just a dressed up grilled cheese!! This has its own unique flavor and is just plain good!! The sourdough bread really adds to this recipe. I did not have salsa to put in the dressing so I subbed some chopped garlic and I used lite mayo. The entire family LOVED these sandwiches. Thank you for sharing this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Very good. Most of my family enjoyed this. I liked the mayo, salsa and green onion - nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
This was so easy, and SO GOOD! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
Great quick after work dinner. The kids and husband even love it. I would recommend making sure the green onion is chopped very fine or it causes a weird texture issue. You will have leftovers so this is also great to put in the kids lunchboxes the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Loved the melted pepper jack cheese! Nice way to combine leftovers for a tasty treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
This was SO GOOD! I loved the combination of flavors in this sandwich and it reminded me of sort of a Southwestern-style sandwich. The only changes I made were to use buffalo-style turkey breast and sliced Italian-style bread. This is a definate keeper! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States