Grilled Halibut with Cilantro Garlic Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
This is the first fish dish I have ever made -- EVER. I'm not much of a fish-eater either (Dad was severely allergic to fish so I never had it growing up and frankly, it sort of scared me to eat it). Fortunately for me, I got over my trepidation and now enjoy many different types of firm, white fish. I saw this recipe and decided to try it. Fresh halibut is expensive here ($25/lb and up) but with just two of us I decided to splurge to see if I liked it and if I could prepare it properly. I marinated the fish with evoo, garlic, cilantro and lime juice for about 4 hours in the fridge and then followed the recipe, grilling the fillets exactly as written. I was amazed at how flaky, moist and mouth-waterlingly delicious the fish turned out. The recipe is a definite keeper - thanks very much Serena.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RR_LLC

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
this was so delicious.. subbed a little over a pound of mahi mahi.. i used the ingredients as more of a marinade.. reduced the garlic to two cloves and left out the butter.. but kept everything else the same.. sauteed the fish in the marinade.. removed the fish out from the pan and then cooked some red bell pepper and mexican squash in the broth.. served it all in corn tortillas.. so good! ty for the recipe.. it rocks as a fish taco
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
Very good recipe. I am not a cilantro lover so I left it out. I substituted Penzey's Mural of Flavor seasoning as a rub applied to both sides followed with squirts of lime juice before putting it on the grill. Grilled on high heat for 5 minutes, flipped, then grilled them on medium heat for 6 minutes. I used a mixture inspired by this recipe of lime juice, butter, virgin olive oil, dried garlic, and garlic salt as a drizzling sauce. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GrandpaBrad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
I made this exactly as directed and it was very bland, although it has potential. Much more lime and garlic is needed, perhaps even marinating it for a half hour or so. I cooked it on the grill wrapped in foil, so maybe just grilled open and spread the butter on it. It's worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Just made this with some fresh halibut we just caught and it is and excellent recipe. It's just adds light flavoring to an already excellent fish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ben Willis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by john fulton
Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Added some seasoned salt, marinated in lime juice 30 mins. 5 stars all around from everyone at the table, very moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
We thought the flavor was a wee bit too subtle for our taste, followed exactly as directed. Could have benefitted from more seasoning? Or possibly would have been improved via longer marinating time?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
I loved the flavor of this. It's now my go to recipe when we have the freezer filled with Halibut. I didn't grill it, but pan fried and then moved it to the oven to finish, was so yummy with the butter to dip it in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eagle River, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
This is amazing! I used tilapia instead of halibut because of availability. I am not a huge fish fan, but ths was great. It was fairly easy to make and delicious! My husband loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
This recipe is awesome. The Garlic really brings the X factor. Lime on any white fish? Hellz yea. We did on the grill with the fish tossed in olive oil, salt n pepper before put on the grill. Served with grilled peppers also tossed in oil, salt n pepper then grilled as well. The sauce really topped off every bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Garlic Steak with Garlic

See how to make an amazing double-garlic steak on the grill.

Grilled Halibut Steaks with Corn & Chanterelles

Grilled halibut steaks with a mushroom and sweet corn relish.

Sirloin Steak with Garlic Butter

See how to make grilled sirloin steak with a luscious garlic and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States