Grilled Gyro Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
This was good. I made some changes though. It was easier for me just to brown the ground beef instead of doing patties and I put in in the pita which I cut in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Martinez, California, USA
Living In: Antioch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Not even close to the real flavor of a Gyros!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Graham

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newark, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
The meat was super moist and a nice change to the regular hamburger. Next time I would strain the yogurt in some thick paper towels ahead of time to remove the extra water because it was kind of runny and squeeze the water out of the cucumber as well. Other than that, I would definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
I did not make any changes to the original recipe and my husband and I both thought it was fantastic! Pitas didn't fall apart like some other reviews said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
These are good! I make a whole big batch and freeze the patties individually so I can pull them out when I want them! I really enjoy these, but instead of ground beef, I use turkey (like with all my recipes). I also added some feta cheese to pita at the end. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington Court House, Ohio, USA
Living In: Delaware, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
Wonderful flavor for a unique sandwich... I tweeked the recipe by using low-fat sour cream, Italian dressing mix (usually no MSG), skipped the lettuce but added slivered red onion to the cucumber mixture.... Then garnished with fresh cilentro and lime wedges to squeeze over the fillings. I thought it was flavorful, juicy, and a refreshing change from just another burger!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kkcooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
Yum! We made this into more of a "Greek taco"-style dish, just browning the beef (added garlic and oregano), then having everyone load up their pita as desired with the cucumber sauce, feta cheese, tomatoes, and lettuce.My husband even enjoyed it leftover for lunch the next day! Easy to make, and very tasty. I'll probably experiment with seasoning the sauce next time; the ranch dressing mix was fine, but I think the end result could be better with a little tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Moorestown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
Made these last night and I won't make them again. I don't like the idea of eating lamb, but love the cucumber sauce of gyro's; my boyfriend loves gyros so we thought this would be a good combination. Burgers came out fine, not falling a part; we did not care for the creamy sauce. I will use the rest of the burgers as just regular hamburgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: White Bear Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hudson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
Good flavor - I added bread crumbs to the hamburger mixure to keep it together - they didn't fall apart at all. Next time I'll make some tzatiki to put on the cucumbers instead of the plain yogurt to add a little zip. My family loved this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
I wouldn't call this a Gyro, doesn't really tase the same. However it is a great recipe for something a little different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kearney, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Glenwood Springs, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Grilled Spicy Lamb Burgers

These may be the most flavorful grilled burgers ever.

Grilled Chicken Burgers

Put a healthy and delicious turn on typical grilled burgers.

Tasty Tuna Burgers

See how to make truly tasty tuna burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States