Grilled Gyro Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
We liked these, and will have them again, but did have a few critiques. Hubby and I both agreed the sauce was too grainy from the dressing packet, and it didn't taste very Greek. I added about 1/2 tsp of lemon juice and that helped a little bit, but it still needed something. I also think the dressing would taste better with the cucumber pureed into the dressing in a blender, rather than chopped into chunks. Also, I subbed ground turkey for ground beef (a family preference, and its healthier). While they tasted great, the burgers fell apart, so I would suggest scaling back the dressing in it and adding an egg to help bind the burgers. But truly, overall, these are pretty good, and a very healthy, creative meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by almondjoy2807

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaside, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
This was amazing! My whole family loved it. Will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
What the heck is so "gyro" about this? Not even close. Basic hamburger IMHO. Don't even bother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
YUMMY! I must say this is very good and an excellent twist to plain old hamburgers. I have made the yogurt/cucumber sauce and used it in other recipes as well, very good! A def must try for everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
The taste was excellent, but I have to agree with others about the pita falling apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BOBBIBRIDGERS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newport, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
These were better than I expected them to be. My family loved them. My picky 8 year old had seconds. She said this is her new favorite meal. I give it 5 stars for that! She doesn't like any new recipes I try. This was not authentic, but it's not supposed to be. For an americanized version of a greek favorite and a nice altrnative to regular hamburgers, it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodymom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
The meat was delicious however for some reason my burgers fell apart on the grill. I'm thinking it was too much yougurt or maybe I should have added some crackers to keep them together. I'll make again and see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
My husband and I loved these! The recipe did make a LOT of the cucumber sauce. Will try using less yogurt next time and will probably substitute some sour cream. My husband has asked when we will be having these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
Sorry. These should be called "Yogurt-Ranch Burgers," since they have little to do with actual gyros. If you want to make a burger that will be like a gyro, use ground lamb mixed with onion, garlic, salt, marjoram, rosemary, and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Labradors

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: La Ceiba, Atlántida, Honduras

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
Not exactly 'authentic', but VERY tasty! I make this alot with some fresh pita. It's also pretty good using a 50/50 of ground beef and ground lamb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Spicy Lamb Burgers

These may be the most flavorful grilled burgers ever.

Grilled Chicken Burgers

Put a healthy and delicious turn on typical grilled burgers.

Tasty Tuna Burgers

See how to make truly tasty tuna burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States