Grilled Gyro Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
I used 1 pound beef and 1/2 pound pork because that is what I had at home. Turned out well. The hamburgers were good just by themselves as well. Husband liked them and said I should make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Very similar to an old Detroit area restaurant's "Middle Eastern" that I've made for years (looked to see if anyone had an "official" recipe). Differences? Brown the ground beef as filling (not burger) with your favorite seasoning and scoop into pita pocket. Top with plain chopped/seeded cucumber, tomato, green onions and ranch dressing. For some reason, the flavors work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Delicious! I used ground turkey in place of the ground beef and they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Too bland. You can add some spices to get a little bit more out of it (we added lemon juice from 1 lemon, ground pepper, 1 clove garlic, 1 tsp garlic powder). But it is so quick and easy and light that I will probably make again. We did not make the meat into patties since we had snow out on our deck but rather just browned and added the dressing and onions after we drained the fat. Adding feta to top it off really added a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
The burgers were O.K. The sauce was not good with the burgers- but great for a salad dressing! The sauce doesn't come close to the sauce the regular gyros have on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This was pretty good. Next time I would just brown the meat into crumbles so that its easier to stuff in the pita without ripping it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
The name may be mis-leading, but this can be tasty. It's just not really gyros. I think people are missing the lamb taste - pretty distinctive taste, and pretty different from beef. They used to serve something like this at a restaurant we went to, and we loved them. The big difference: loose hamburger meat. The good thing about the meat being loose rather than in a burger form is that the flavors can mingle better. Give this a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grosse Pointe, Michigan, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
Sorry, I'm gonna have to stick with my neighborhood Greek restaurant if I want a good gyro. Not very authentic-tasting, and the meat got a weird consistency, so I would recommend frying. If you would even attempt this recipe, because I'm sure there are better ones out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Birmingham, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
My family liked the burgers very much and, unike some other reviewers, we had no problem with them falling apart. The sauce could easily have been cut in half and still be more than enough for 6 burgers. Sauce could have used some more zing. Next time I will add garlic, pepper and lemon juice and some fresh chopped dill. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
These were OK. I was disappointed that the patties fell apart so much. The flavor was good, but not Greek at all. I bet if you added some type of Greek seasoning to the meat it would be much better. I would still probably make it again. My 4 yr old liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalispell, Montana, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Grilled Spicy Lamb Burgers

These may be the most flavorful grilled burgers ever.

Grilled Chicken Burgers

Put a healthy and delicious turn on typical grilled burgers.

Tasty Tuna Burgers

See how to make truly tasty tuna burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States