Grilled Garlic Parmesan Zucchini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
This is a great way to grill zucchini. We've always added a little olive oil to the butter, garlic, parsley mixture. I just cut the zucchini in half and lightly score it then rub the butter mixture into it and grill. The grill marks come out nice. After it's off the grill sprinkle with parmesan and let it melt. If you put parmesan on during grilling it gets messy and may burn. If you want to avoid all that just put it all in a foil packet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
228 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
This was soooo yummy!!! I cooked in the oven under broil and it turned out great but I had to add a little salt which made it perfect! It was hard to do the butter on the bottom skin side of slices - next time I think I'll just spray my sheet with non-stick and put the butter and cheese on one side. Ty for such a great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
These were fantastic! Admittedly, I didn't really measure anything, just eyeballed it, as we are camping and I'm kinda lazy! I mixed everything, brushed it on the zucchini spears, and slapped them on the grill (ok, Mr. LTH did the last part). They were simple & delightful. These will def be on the menu frequently at the LTH house. TY, angie, for an awesome side dish!!! (Photo on the way)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
This is a terrific recipe! I've made this a few times now for company and people always ask for the recipe and are excited to learn a new way to cook zucchini, especially for the grill. I've taken the advice of some other commenters and used part olive oil, part butter, instead of all butter. I cut the zucchini lengthwise into four pieces; placed the zucchini strips on the grill, curved side up where appropriate. I used a basting brush to coat the top side with the butter/garlic/parsley marinate. After about 5 minutes I flipped the zucchini strips, basted the other side, and sprinkled with parmesan. 4 or 5 minutes later, they’re ready to come off the grill, looking gorgeous and tasting delicious. I highly suggest adding this recipe to your grilling repertoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hazel Park, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Nice, simple side dish requiring little effort and few ingredients. I thought the amounts of butter and Parmesan a little too generous, however, so I just adjusted the amounts to taste. Salt not in order because of the Parmesan, but pepper definitely is. Hubs doesn't care for Parmesan, so he left it off his and I have to say I actually prefered his, without the cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
I'm doing weight watchers and I'm desperate for healthy good-tasting sides. I didn't have any parsley so I went with butter, minced garlic, salt, and the cheap sawdust-style parmesan. SO GOOOOD! can't imagine how good it would be with the right ingredients. Make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NorthvilleLady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northville, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
Soooo good! I used both zucchini and yellow squash and both were good but I did prefer the zucchini. Made exactly as recipe described and added the parmesean cheese the final couple of minutes just to melt. No way to turn them, I was afraid all the 'good stuff' would fall off. Try this you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Taber Tombrella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, Texas, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathie Brundege
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
This recipe was wonderful. I use 4 or 5 TB of butter, a spin of olive oil and a spin of sesame oil. To this I added some sesame seeds and dry parsley, salt and pepper. I put about 1/2 cup of grated Parmesan cheese and 1/4 to 1/3 c of Panko Breadcrumbs. I used 2 zucchini, sliced off the ends and then sliced them in half lengthwise. I sliced a small portion off the skin side to both level the pieces and also to open up to the meat. I dried the squash with paper towels, and scooped out the center seeds and pithy part, and salted generously (this is a bland veggie and needs the salt even using the Parm. I scored the skin side, and basted with the butter lightly on both sides. I put it flesh side down on the grill for 4 or 5 minutes, basted and flipped. Then I filled the cavity with the remaining butter mixture and filled with the Parmesan/Panko. I grilled for another 8 minutes. Then I put them on a foil covered cookie sheet and put under the broiler for about 3 or 4 minutes, til the cheese was a beautiful crisp golden brown. We enjoyed this with Filet Mignon, and it was just perfect, not to filling but not needing anything else. In spite of salting as well as I did I will probably add a bit more next time, and there will definitely be a next time! Delightful way to enjoy summer's bounty of Zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathie Brundege

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Victor, New York, USA
Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
This is a very simple and tasty recipe for zucchini! I didn't make it quite right (my dad does the grilling, and he used indirect heat, so they didn't get any grill marks) but it was still very tasty. I also spread the butter mixture on one side of the zucchini slices instead of both; I wasn't quite sure how to spread it on the curved skin side! Even with these changes, the zucchini lovers in my house enjoyed this dish, but we all thought it could use just a tad more of something...but we weren't quite sure what. All in all, it is a very simple and satisfying dish. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
This was excellent! Even my kids didnt complain about eating zucchini. I made exactly as recipe is written. I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Balsamic Grilled Zucchini

Balsamic vinegar gives grilled zucchini delicious caramelized flavors.

Grilled Lemon Pepper Zucchini

See how to make summer’s ideal side dish starring zucchini and yellow squash.

Grilled Garlic Steak with Garlic

See how to make an amazing double-garlic steak on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States