Grilled Garlic Artichokes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
Great recipe!!! I went to Houston's last week and got a rough recipe from the bartender that was essentially the same – she didn’t know any measurements, but the ingredients were consistent with the recipe listed on this website. According to her, they boil the artichokes for 20 minutes and then refrigerate them for 1 hour before grilling. I just tried the recipe at home (incorporating these instructions) and they came out great. Because I am limited to an oven, I broiled the artichokes on high, as closely to the burners as possible (without touching of course), for approximately 20 minutes. This gave them the nice charred look and flavor on the outside. Hope this helps those without access to a grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
360 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
Really good, and very simple! I boiled the artichoke halves the day before, drained them thoroughly on paper towels, and refrigerated them before scooping out the chokes with a spoon (don't forget this important step) and grilling them the next day. Get them good and charred for the best flavor! The marinade/dipping sauce is great! I also made a garlic aioli for dipping that complemented the artichokes nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
185 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee Bergquist

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Very good! I do think it's odd that the instructions don't mention to remove the choke, some cooks might not know that they should do that. Anyway, next time I think I would boil the artichokes for longer and only grill long enough to put a little char on them. Great flavor though. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2005
I also had grilled artichoke for the first time at the Cheesecake Factory restaurant, and loved it, so I was very pleased to find this recipe. I've made these a couple times now, and will continue to use this recipe. Living in an apartment, however, outdoor grilling is not really possible for me, but I thought broiling these in the oven also worked well. (I made the mistake of placing them too close to the broiler at first... with all the oil on them that's probably not a good idea--I moved them to a lower rack to be on the safe side). Broiling does not give them the same charred look or quite the same flavor as grilling, but is still good for a second-best method. Also, rather than cutting the artichokes in half before boiling them, I boiled them whole first for longer (30 minutes) then drained them and let them cool for a few minutes before cutting them and then basting and broiling. Just my personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
This recipe reminds me exactly of the taste of the grilled artichokes at Houston's Restaurant. The only variation I put on it was to steam in a basket instead of boiling the artichoke.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
Great recipe and super easy. I used small artichokes and made them for an appetizer - really a crowd pleaser and so pretty on the plate. I boiled them a little longer and also added a small amount of balsamic vinegar to the marinade. Delicious and everyone asked for the recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa L

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dove Canyon, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
Very good. Even my kids enjoyed it. Recipe didn't mention removing the chokes before grilling - which I did. They needed a bit more salt but were tasty even without using the additional dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2004
This dish is amazing, the tastiest dish I've tried in months! Wonderful! We ate grilled artichokes in Cheese Factory but this is way better. Highly recommend it. We have charcoal grill that gave it nice smoked flavor. Thanks Rosiella, you made my day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Living in the produce capital of America we have access to many fresh fruits and vegetables picked straight from the fields with artichokes among them. Easy preparation, though readers should take note that the submitter forgot to mention to remove the "choke" prior to grilling. This recipe had too much lemon in it for my taste buds, but that's a quick and easy adjustment. Thanks so much for the submission rosiella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Gets three stars because it did not say to take out the "choke," the flavor was not enough at all, and trimming the top of the artichoke is not specified (i.e. cut off the top 1/3?). My husband and I feel like three stars is generous. Not sure why the reviews are so high-- maybe we are just crazy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Garlic Steak with Garlic

See how to make an amazing double-garlic steak on the grill.

Chef John's Grilled Garlic and Herb Shrimp

Delicious, fresh garden herb marinated and grilled shrimp.

Grilled Garlic Fennel Flank Steak with Oranges

See how to make flavorful flank steak with grilled oranges.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States