Grilled Garlic Artichokes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Photo by Perilous
Reviewed: May 18, 2009
Absolutely delicious! I modified the recipe just a bit by adding lemon juice to the boiling water, and instead of just salt and pepper I used a homemade Cajun seasoning spice blend in the oil and lemon mixture, then added to that a little bit of the water the artichokes were boiled in. Basted it constantly while grilling, turning often, and it came out beautifully and very, very delicious. This is a keeper and an instant favourite. Homemade Cajun spice blend (can be used on MANY different kinds of dishes): Roughly equal amounts of black pepper, onion, garlic, and chili powders. Half measures thyme, basil. Double measure cayenne pepper. Blend well until uniform color. Increase volume by about 1/3 with salt, and mix thoroughly (do not reblend). I like sea salt or kosher salt because it's crunchy, but any salt will do. Use as you would any seasoned salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
These are VERY yummy! I made the mistake of steaming for 25 minutes -- way too long and as a result some of mine fell apart and couldn't get to the grill. The halves that did make it were exceptional! Looking for the flavor of the ones from Houston's -- this is close.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
I'll never steam artichokes again. This recipe was fantastic. No dipping in butter needed! I didn't even use the butter in the recipe- only olive oil! What a great healthy alternative. THANKS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
Very tasty! My brother & I went out to a local steak place for dinner one night and saw these on the menu. We decided to give them a try and they were SO good. My brother can't stop talking about them. I found this recipe and made them for my husband. He loved them too. I am going to make them for my brother and surprise him. Since all he has talked about since our steak dinner, are the BBQ'd artichokes he had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thisgurlluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
this is exactly the recipe my husband and I were looking for! its so good that you dont even need any sauce to dip! have napkins ready becuase your fingers will be really oily. this was very good and filling and healthier than using mayo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
Oh were these good!!!! I followed the recipe closely except for using less olive oil-just a personal preference. I found 1/3 cup oil was just enough. There is no need to dip them in any of the leftover olive oil if you do make the whole amount of dip. Flavorful enough. I would suggest that you get the water boiling before trimming and chopping to avoid having to soak the artichokes in water first. These are too good to pass up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greendale, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
Hands down the best artichoke ever! Be sure to steam your choke long enough if its one of the really really big ones, mine came out slightly crunchy after BBQ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: White Salmon, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
Simply, easy, delicious and elegant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
Turned out great! We ate them without dipping them in anything. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
These were delicious! I loved the grilled flavor. I steamed them first, rather than boiling them, because I like that method better. My only criticism with the recipe is that there's WAY too much marinade - I couldn't really brush them too often on the grill without causing flare-ups, and I thought they were oily enough (and flavorful enough) to not need dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Garlic Steak with Garlic

See how to make an amazing double-garlic steak on the grill.

Grilled Garlic Fennel Flank Steak with Oranges

See how to make flavorful flank steak with grilled oranges.

Sautéed Garlic Asparagus

This simple method really highlights the flavor of the asparagus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States