Grilled Garlic Artichokes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2015
It was great! And it was fun showing friends how to eat an artichoke! (I'm from California where these were almost a staple).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
Just what I was looking for. I've made boiled and then later, steamed in the microwave, artichokes throughout all of my adult life; I taught each of my children starting at age 3 how to eat an artichoke. In recent years I've ordered the grilled ones in restaurants and wondered how to replicate that at home. Tonight I decided to try, consulted Allrecipes and found this one, and bingo this is it! As others have noted, do remove the choke first. I did mine before boiling. Thanks, recipe author, and Allrecipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Besada

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
Easy. I grilled them over the low open flame on my stove for about 15 min, until charred. I served them face down atop a pool of lemon, olive oil & salt. Was out of garlic, didn't miss it. This would make a nice small course as part of a multi course Italian meal. It takes time to eat, so it will stretch out the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Janvrin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
The recipe really should be modified to remind beginner cooks to take the choke out. Also the dip not as good as I have tasted from other recipes. I'm going to try the mayonnaise, balsamic vinegar, cilantro dressing that someone else mentions in their review. Will be perfect with better dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Living in the produce capital of America we have access to many fresh fruits and vegetables picked straight from the fields with artichokes among them. Easy preparation, though readers should take note that the submitter forgot to mention to remove the "choke" prior to grilling. This recipe had too much lemon in it for my taste buds, but that's a quick and easy adjustment. Thanks so much for the submission rosiella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina Louise Meyers
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
We loved this recipe! We've alway just boiled the artichokes but this was a great new way for us to try them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Fantastic! Tried them for end-of-summer dinner party. Brave, I thought ??. Be sure to constantly watch them on grill, as the olive oil drips into fire and will burn them. The guests loved them. Huge hit. I added more lemon and garlic and used a bit of chile-infused olive oil with plain for a little extra flavor. ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoriaren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I am not a fan. It's possible that I simply do not like artichokes all that much, but I did not enjoy this dish as much as I'd hoped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RazzyHoHo
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Made this last weekend for guests and we all loved it! A nice change to our usual garlic butter dipping sauce. Loved the grilled flavor and was a great light side dish. I removed the choke after cooking, but before serving, as it's easier for me at that point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Park Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Garlic Steak with Garlic

See how to make an amazing double-garlic steak on the grill.

Grilled Garlic Fennel Flank Steak with Oranges

See how to make flavorful flank steak with grilled oranges.

Grilled Corn on the Cob

This simple grilling method yields perfect corn every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States