Grilled Garlic and Herb Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Excellent marinade! My husband isn't a huge fan of grilled shrimp, but we were having his Mom over and we both love the stuff so we got our turn on the grill. All I added to this marinade was a little dry white wine and I did cut the brown sugar way back to 1 tsp. because I really wanted the garlic and herb flavor to come through vs. a sweet flavor. But I still wanted to stick to the recipe. I skewered the shrimp onto bamboo skewers and marinated it for a couple hours. It turned out so good - I would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2009
Because I'm not a big fan of sweet mixed with savory, I only used a third of the brown sugar called for. This is a matter of personal taste, and I'm sure others would love the extra sweetness. Also, running short of time, I only marinated the shrimp for an hour, and it turned out to be a happy mistake. The seasoning was just right, and had it marinated any longer I think it would have been too strong, overpowering the taste of the shrimp. More isn't always better! Rather than the outdoor grill, we just broiled these on bamboo skewers and, once done, brushed on some melted butter for a nice glisten and richness. Served this wonderful dinner with Dill and Butter Squash and Parmesan Orzo, recipes also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Marlena C.
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
These were delicious! A delicate marinade that enhanced the flavor of shrimp. The only changes I made were to use fresh basil, and boil the remaining marinade (with 1 T. butter) for basting on the grill. Served with garlic butter rice, and sauteed zucchini for the most delicious meal so far this week. I will definitely use this receipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marlena C.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
Great flavor, my guests all loved this recipe!! I followed all the steps from the original recipe and although it would be easy to make changes to accomodate personal tastes there really isn't much reason to do so. Very easy to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
We all loved it, though we made a few minor changes. I didn't have any basil but did use the Italian seasonings and I didn't have time to marinate much -- just 30 minutes. We cooked these on our George Foreman and it worked out great -- quick and easy! I was especially grateful it wasn't too spicy which made it great for our 3yo and 5yo. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
No changes, marinated for 3 hours. Broiled for 3 minutes but unfortunately I found the taste to be bland....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2008
its the first recipe I came across that I already had all the ingredients for! We liked it. But maybe we should have marinated it for longer that 45 min. I plan to try it again very soon and I will marinate it for 2 hours next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
This shrimp recipe was great. I used 1 tsp of regular paprika and 1 tsp of smoked spanish paprika. I only added 1 TBS of brown sugar, and it was perfect. I would add a little more sugar if you had a bit more that 2 lbs shrimp, or if they were larger than 21/25, to make sure they are coated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willis, Texas, USA
Living In: Conroe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dixie'sMom
Reviewed: May 3, 2009
Wow, this recipe is fantastic! I followed it to a tee and couldn't have expected better. Thanks for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dixie'sMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
This has quickly become one of our favorite recipes. Even our picky eater loves "shrimp on the bar-b"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winona Lake, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Shrimp with Lemon Aioli

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy, very flavorful grilled shrimp.

Marinated Grilled Shrimp

Grilling marinated shrimp makes a fast, flavorful main dish.

Grilled Marinated Shrimp

The tangy marinade makes the shrimp moist and flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States