Grilled Flat Iron Steak with Blue Cheese-Chive Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Virginia M.
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
This was delicious!!! I followed the recipe exactly, except I cooked my steak on the stove (it looked like rain). I have only recently begun cooking flat iron steaks, but they are so tender and delicious. This recipe was by far the best I have tried. The blue cheese-chive butter is also delicious on sliced baguettes! Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
Great steak marinade with or without the blue cheese butter! I used sirloin instead of a flat iron steak, it came out so tender and the marinade was completely soaked up by the meat. I doubled the amount of blue cheese butter and when the steak came off the grill I let the butter melt right over it before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
I made this with a London Broil and loved it. I don't normally care for bleu cheese but the blue cheese butter was wonderful. I will definitely make again. I didn't have any chives so I used a little grated onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
The marinade was pretty standard, but good. The blue-cheese-chive-butter, though, is outstanding, and earns this one 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
I made this recipe with filet mignon. I marinaded the steaks overnight and then seared them (with about a 1/4 tsp of sugar on each side-it speads the process up). I then baked them on a roasting rack in a shallow pan in a 325 oven for 25 minutes.They turned out perfectly!!It was delicious and I didn't have to spend all that time over a grill. I thought that the blue cheese butter, while good, could have used a little something. Next time I think I'll add a little garlic salt to the butter. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden City, New York, USA
Living In: Pewaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
While eating this meal, my husband said it tasted like something we'd get at a steakhouse restaurant. It was fantastic!! We marinated for 4 hours and it was so delicious. The meat was great on it's own and even better with the butter. The blue-cheese chive butter could be an addition to any grilled steak, it was wonderful. Thank you for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
I hate blue cheese. But I made this one for my husband at his request. The marinade smelled wonderful. The steak was really good. But my husband said that the blue cheese butter is what really puts it over the top. He loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
I used white vinegar as that is all I had along with chopped garlic from the jar (fresh tastes wonderful, I'm sure) and used 3 heaping tablespoons of the garlic. Marinated for four hours and it was delicious. I also used freeze dried chives in the butter, and it worked fine--although I'm sure fresh would make it even better. Company worthy and I'll make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laramie, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
I make the butter with gorgonzola and it is a staple with all of my steak adventures!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
One of the best steaks we've eaten- even for those who dont like Blue cheese! No changes necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nickypro25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Bethany, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Garlic Steak with Garlic

See how to make an amazing double-garlic steak on the grill.

Sirloin Steak with Garlic Butter

See how to make grilled sirloin steak with a luscious garlic and butter sauce.

Chef John's Grilled Flap Steak

See how to grill a thin, inexpensive cut of beef for salads, sandwiches, & tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States