Grilled Five Spice Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
I made this yesterday and it turned out great! I omitted the fish sauce from both the marinade and finishing sauce. While I love fish and seafood, the combination with chicken just did not sound appealing. Also, I did not care for the finishing sauce. The chicken was tasty w/o it. I also threw some mesquite chips on top of the briquets for a little smoke. Make sure you use indirect heat otherwise you risk burning it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by epicurious_11

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fall Creek, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
I made the marinade portion of this recipe and used on B/S chix b's, delicious! I added a slug of sherry to stretch the marinade a bit, and marinated overnight. Very delicious and different. Thanks, Chef J!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
delicious! used bone in chicken breasts. came out nice and juicy and wonderfully spiced on the grill. thanks for the post Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
I noticed the freshly grated ginger Chef John added to marinate in the video is not listed under Ingredients section of recipe. What is the exact measurement?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red Hat Milli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Note* The written recipe has omitted the crushed ginger that John mentions in his video. It DOES make a difference, so add a 1/2 tsp of ginger for the perfect taste he intended. I didn't have the fish sauce on hand, so I used oyster sauce instead and it was so good that when I made it again, I was afraid to change the ingredient. Thanks Chef John, it's wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smilin' Rosie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
My family loved this chicken. I had to adapt some ingredients based on what I had on hand. I used 10 boneless skinless thighs (they were on the small side). I used oyster sauce instead of fish sauce and red curry paste instead of hot chile paste. Marinated 6 hours then grilled. So tender and juicy with a indian like flavor. Served this with jasmine rice and steamed spinach seasoned with vinegar. I didn't make the basting sauce or add the ginger that was not listed in the ingredients but used in the video. Next time I will try using the ginger, but keeping the other ingredients the same. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melodylane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lambertville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I went out and bought five spice for this recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
I forgot to get lime so just added a little more rice vinegar. Was a little sceptical with the marinade at the beginning but it turned out great. We fried it in the pan first and then put it in the oven for about 30-40 mins. Then we used the juice to make gravy by adding some sugar and cornstarch. It was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
awesome and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smart cookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
This was awesome! I used chicken breast and I can only imagine what it would taste like with a whole chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Daly City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Honey Mustard Grilled Chicken

See how to make a great marinade and basting sauce for grilled chicken.

Grilled Tandoori Chicken

Watch Chef John make easy tandoori-style chicken on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States