Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle-Lime Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
These are amazing. We have been looking for good fish taco's since moving from California, and this beats all the restaurants in town by far. The sauce is very hot though, and we reduced the chili powder & chipotle en adobo to our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
Great Recipe, I followed the suggestion of others and omitted the adobe sauce. I only marinaded the fish for an hour and then I baked it at 350 for 15 minutes in the marinade. For garnish I used diced tomato, onion, cilantro, and shredded cabbage - yummm. For a side dish I made rice with black beans. Can't wait to make this wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
222 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duchessmellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
Omg! This marinade is SOOO good!!! The only change I made was due to what I had on hand; no hot pepper sauce, so I subbed crushed red pepper flakes and a little of Emeril's Southwest Seasoning. (The chipotle sour cream was a little tart for me- I think next time I would cut down on the lime juice, or maybe leave it out altogether, but that is just personal preference.) Thanks mabcat!! This definitely stays in rotation! :) p.s. After looking at a few recipes for fish tacos, I made just the corn salsa from 'Fiery Fish Tacos with Crunchy Corn Salsa', also on this site. It was FANTASTIC with this fish! You could even make the tilapia fillets with the corn salsa on the side (not as tacos) and that would be a wonderful entree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
328 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawnie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
Wonderful recipe. We used shrimp in place of the fish and cooked on the grill. I thought it sounded like quite a large amount of adobo sauce and I was right. I would think just a few tablespoons would do just fine.Next time I will lesson the amount. Excellent recipe regardless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
My husband loved this!!!! I used the marinade for some tuna tacos & it was wonderful!! It had the perfect tang from the lime zest & juice & just the right sweetness from the honey. It reminded me of a baja fish taco. A keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BATCAVES
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
The marinade was great. I increased the cumin to 1 tsp, honey to 2 tsp, and lime juice to 3 tbsp. I cooked the fish in a pan instead of the grill, for convenience. Instead of making the dressing, I boiled the marinade down to a thick sauce and drizzled this over the tacos with baby greens, tomatoes, cilantro, and avocado. Very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BATCAVES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vinton, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
Great! We never had tilapia before, but will definately have it again. It was a little delicate to handle, but the marinade made it so good! I may try another reviewer's suggestion to bake it next time. The dressing was great even though I didn't put in the adobo. I added some Franks extra hot sauce instead. Next time I will use the adobo since we like things very hot. The baby greens someone suggested instead of the cabbage sounds really good too. I can't wait to make these again, it's a great light meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Metuchen, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
Great recipe and easy. Excellent flavor! I used Halibut and only marinated it for about 4 hours due to time. For the dressing I used Tabasco Chipotle Pepper sauce instead of adobe sauce. My husband loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly H.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
I made these with halibut for a group last night. I followed earlier advice about not using quite so much adobo so I cut it down to about 1/3 cup and it was still very hot (would use 1/4 next time) but very good. I made a version with only a teaspoon or so of adobo for the people that don't like spicy, and it was really good also. Followed everything else exactly - these were excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Longview, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nateral
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
Let me start off by saying that the entire time I was eating this, I couldn't stop saying "oh my god this is sooo good!" It was amazing. We didn't deviate from the recipe much. Left out the adobo chipotle stuff because we didn't know what it was, and added a tablespoon or two of Cholula hot sauce instead. It had the perfect amount of spice. Also, we thought about substituting the lime for lemon juice (since that's what we had on hand), but I'm very glad we didn't because the lime flavor added a lot to the recipe! I did leave out the cilantro because I can't stand it. We only marinated for twenty minutes (instead of six hours, whew!) and it turned out perfectly! It was so good we even uploaded a picture of it, since this recipe definitely deserves a picture. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 606) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle Lime Dressing

Tilapia filets turn into tasty fish tacos with a tangy adobo and lime dressing.

Baja Fish Tacos

See how to make marinated fish tacos on the grill.

Fish Tacos

See how to make 5-star San Diego-style fish tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States