Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle-Lime Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
Omg! This marinade is SOOO good!!! The only change I made was due to what I had on hand; no hot pepper sauce, so I subbed crushed red pepper flakes and a little of Emeril's Southwest Seasoning. (The chipotle sour cream was a little tart for me- I think next time I would cut down on the lime juice, or maybe leave it out altogether, but that is just personal preference.) Thanks mabcat!! This definitely stays in rotation! :) p.s. After looking at a few recipes for fish tacos, I made just the corn salsa from 'Fiery Fish Tacos with Crunchy Corn Salsa', also on this site. It was FANTASTIC with this fish! You could even make the tilapia fillets with the corn salsa on the side (not as tacos) and that would be a wonderful entree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
331 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawnie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
This is really good...BUT!!! I would just like to add a word of caution. The first time I made this I accidently bought chipotle peppers in adobo sauce rather than just the adobo sauce. I picked out the peppers and followed the recipe as written and holy cow it was hot! Too hot and I love really spicy food. I ended up adding a lot more sour cream to calm it down. The 2nd time I made it I used the same sauce but strained out the seeds after picking out the pepper and it was perfect. NOT kid friendly due to the spice/heat, but will definitely make again & pass on the recipe to others! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
256 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReddGypsy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
Great Recipe, I followed the suggestion of others and omitted the adobe sauce. I only marinaded the fish for an hour and then I baked it at 350 for 15 minutes in the marinade. For garnish I used diced tomato, onion, cilantro, and shredded cabbage - yummm. For a side dish I made rice with black beans. Can't wait to make this wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
223 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duchessmellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BATCAVES
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
The marinade was great. I increased the cumin to 1 tsp, honey to 2 tsp, and lime juice to 3 tbsp. I cooked the fish in a pan instead of the grill, for convenience. Instead of making the dressing, I boiled the marinade down to a thick sauce and drizzled this over the tacos with baby greens, tomatoes, cilantro, and avocado. Very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BATCAVES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vinton, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
The marinade gets 5 stars... it's fantastic! Overall though, I gave this a 4 because the tilapia, in my opinion, is just too delicate of a fish to stand up to this recipe. Next time I'll use haddock fillets, or a similar fish sliced in thicker fillets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
These are amazing. We have been looking for good fish taco's since moving from California, and this beats all the restaurants in town by far. The sauce is very hot though, and we reduced the chili powder & chipotle en adobo to our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
The only reason this got 4 stars instead of five is because the sauce isn't very good. It had a very strong lime taste that overwhelmed everything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Loved the marinade. Didn't like the dressing. Had to bake in the oven because it's winter now but really enjoyed the flavor of the fish. I let it marinate overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
This was tasty. I marinated this overnite but wish the fish had more of the marinade flavor. I think next time I'll increase the spices up. I did cut back on the chipolte in the topping because I knew the amount in the recipe was too much for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Not bad.... I think I liked this more than my hubs did tho (but that's the norm in my house lol!). My hubs and I both LOVE fish tacos. I've tried many grilled and battered (i.e. fried) recipes on here, but none have been to our liking. This was by FAR the best of the bunch, but is in need of some minor tweaking to better suit our tastes. For one, the sauce is WAAAY too spicy (holy socks!) and heavy for such a delicate fish. It would be much better if it were considerably toned down and paired with a meatier fish - maybe halibut or marlin. Now, onto the positives. :) The marinade is simply fantastic! I could have eaten the fish on it's own, it was that good. The sauce was also good, but again, it was REALLY spicy. All I could taste was adobo which is a shame because the spices and lime didn't have a chance to shine thru. I recommend HALVING the adobo to start and adjust to your liking from there. NOTE: You need to cut your tilapia into chunks BEFORE grilling (if you don't, your filets will flake), but by doing so, it makes it nearly impossible to prevent from falling thru the grates of your grill. My husband found a simple solution. Reynolds Wrap sells a product made specifically for grilling. Alternatively, you can use a special grill pan if you have one. Topped with shredded coleslaw mix, fresh pico and Mexican-blend cheese. Spanish rice and tortilla chips were great no-fuss accompainments. Frozen margaritas helped cool our burning mouths ha! Thanks for sharing, mbcat! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 611) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle Lime Dressing

Tilapia filets turn into tasty fish tacos with a tangy adobo and lime dressing.

Baja Fish Tacos

See how to make marinated fish tacos on the grill.

Fish Tacos

See how to make 5-star San Diego-style fish tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States