Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle-Lime Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
These are amazing. We have been looking for good fish taco's since moving from California, and this beats all the restaurants in town by far. The sauce is very hot though, and we reduced the chili powder & chipotle en adobo to our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
Great recipe and easy. Excellent flavor! I used Halibut and only marinated it for about 4 hours due to time. For the dressing I used Tabasco Chipotle Pepper sauce instead of adobe sauce. My husband loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly H.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
I made these with halibut for a group last night. I followed earlier advice about not using quite so much adobo so I cut it down to about 1/3 cup and it was still very hot (would use 1/4 next time) but very good. I made a version with only a teaspoon or so of adobo for the people that don't like spicy, and it was really good also. Followed everything else exactly - these were excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Longview, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
Wonderful recipe. We used shrimp in place of the fish and cooked on the grill. I thought it sounded like quite a large amount of adobo sauce and I was right. I would think just a few tablespoons would do just fine.Next time I will lesson the amount. Excellent recipe regardless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
I only used the marinade in this recipe for my dover fillets. It was a very unexpected combination of ingredients that worked quite well together. I used rice vinegar instead of white vinegar; did not use cumin, chili powder, or hot pepper sauce (used crushed red pepper flakes instead); and used some Mrs. Dash seasoning rather than seafood seasoning. Also added some thyme. I baked the fillets whole at 350 with a lot of marinade on top, and flaked afterwards for the tacos. It tasted great. Just wish it could have been more tangy, but could have resulted from the rice vinegar substitution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
I made this last night and it was very good. I used swordfish instead of the tilapia because it's a little bit of a sturdier fish. I loved the Chipotle-Lime dressing. It had a nice bite to it and it was great on chips too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmmasMommy713

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
Omg! This marinade is SOOO good!!! The only change I made was due to what I had on hand; no hot pepper sauce, so I subbed crushed red pepper flakes and a little of Emeril's Southwest Seasoning. (The chipotle sour cream was a little tart for me- I think next time I would cut down on the lime juice, or maybe leave it out altogether, but that is just personal preference.) Thanks mabcat!! This definitely stays in rotation! :) p.s. After looking at a few recipes for fish tacos, I made just the corn salsa from 'Fiery Fish Tacos with Crunchy Corn Salsa', also on this site. It was FANTASTIC with this fish! You could even make the tilapia fillets with the corn salsa on the side (not as tacos) and that would be a wonderful entree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
334 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawnie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nateral
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
Let me start off by saying that the entire time I was eating this, I couldn't stop saying "oh my god this is sooo good!" It was amazing. We didn't deviate from the recipe much. Left out the adobo chipotle stuff because we didn't know what it was, and added a tablespoon or two of Cholula hot sauce instead. It had the perfect amount of spice. Also, we thought about substituting the lime for lemon juice (since that's what we had on hand), but I'm very glad we didn't because the lime flavor added a lot to the recipe! I did leave out the cilantro because I can't stand it. We only marinated for twenty minutes (instead of six hours, whew!) and it turned out perfectly! It was so good we even uploaded a picture of it, since this recipe definitely deserves a picture. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
Very good flavor. The adobo howver was not really for me. I think next time I will make the dressing/sauce from the same ingredients in the marinade, just less some of the liquid if that makes sense. I also put regular salsa that I like on it. The marinade really made the flavor though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
I SO wanted to love these fish tacos... but they were just ok. The lime and adobo just kind of overpowered everything. I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of reducing the amount of adobo sauce in the sour cream dressing. Oh, and I used plain yogurt in place of some of the sour cream (I wanted to save the rest of my sour cream for cheesecake!). These tacos were good, just not stellar. My daughter wouldn't eat them and my spousal equivalent agreed that they're not quite what we were looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Bend, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Manitowish Waters, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 627) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle Lime Dressing

Tilapia filets turn into tasty fish tacos with a tangy adobo and lime dressing.

Baja Fish Tacos

See how to make marinated fish tacos on the grill.

Fish Tacos

See how to make 5-star San Diego-style fish tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States