Grilled Filet Mignon with Gorgonzola Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
My husband said that he's going to dream about the cream sauce tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly Stark Dean

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
My sauce didn't turn out well because I used a cream starter instead. By the time hubby got the steaks off the grill it was as thick as paste. Both hub by and grandson said it tasted good but I was underwhelmed. Next time use nonfat half and half and thicken if necessary. Also I think I prefer the flavor of blue cheese instead of Gorgonzola to compliment the rich steaks. Maybe next time I'll just use crumbled blue cheese on the steaks or hamburger just before it comes off the grill. Less calories and a complimentary flavor with beef. Or combine blue cheese with Panko and put under the broiler for a minute or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carson
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Absolutely delectable!! I got the filet mignon steaks from the Fresh Market, and the quantity of the steak was Un-Real. The sauce? AMAZING! The Gorgonzola cheese mixed with the parmesan was so gooood! Served with steamed asparagus, baked potatoes & French bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
I followed directions exactly as written and couldn't have been happier. I'm all about flavor and this recipe is full of flavor. How could you go wrong, bacon, thick cream with cheese flavor with onions. The wife loved this and so did I. I will make this again and will try with chicken breasts as well. Thanks for the recipe. This was really outstanding for me to rate 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Great recipe! Sauce has a great flavor! My husband couldn't stop talking about how good the cheese was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
I made just the sauce and poured over bacon wrapped filet mignon and grilled asparagus; it was a huge hit. My family loved it! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
My boyfriend is a big gorgonzola fan and I decided to make this one night for dinner. I actually used a little more gorgonzola than the recipe called for and we were not disappointed. I will be making this recipe in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
So delicious!! Used a New York strip. Doesn't overwhelm taste buds but pushing them to the limit of satisfactory! Didn't add the nutmeg but so good thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
I don't have a nice outdoor grill, so I cook the steaks in the broiler for only 2-3 minutes per side. The cream didn't turn out that well for me (hence the three stars); it was still runny after an hour of simmering. In retrospect, I would use only three cups of cream and add cornstarch to speed up the thickening process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SandyK811

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
OK, so I changed the recipe. so shoot me for rating it 5 stars but I can't help it. with the few small changes that I made this was AMAZING! As another reviewer suggested I used only 1 cup cream with the full amounts of everything else. I did add a pinch of cayenne but couldn't even taste it anyways. the only slight problem I had was that the sauce did not thicken even with the reduced amt of cream. Ended up adding probably a bit more than a T cornstarch. Perfect. Nice and thick, good flavour, especially with the bacon and green onions. for my steaks I wrapped them in bacon and broiled them after brushing with some olive oil, salt and pepper. To die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gorgonzola Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic, creamy sauce with tangy blue cheese.

Easy Yet Romantic Filet Mignon

All you need are a few minutes to make perfect bacon-wrapped filet mignon.

Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze

See how to make an impressive steak dinner for two that's also quick and easy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States