Grilled Eggplant, Tomato and Goat Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
SENSATIONAL! We used balsamic vinaigrette dressing & mozzarella & provolone instead of goat's cheese. Threw in fresh basil also! It was EASY & didn't fall apart. Looked like a gourmet veggie dish from a fancy restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
A delicious and impressive appetizer that beautifully complimented our grilled chicken dinner. Even my tomato-hating husband enjoyed this. If you love goat cheese, you will love this dish! The robust balsamic and mild, creamy goat cheese pair together quite nicely. Thanks for the fabulous recipe of an appetizer for the grill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2005
Not a big eggplant fan - but this is really tasty! Big hit with my friends as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
BIG hit - even with non-eggplant people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
Fantastic. I added a basil leaf to each stack. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CITEREH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Hickory, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
I made this just as described but with a basil leaf on top of the goat cheese. My grill ran out of gas as I was cooking them! I finished them in the oven, and they are soooo creamy and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
Very tasty -- very easy. Thanks for the recipe! (I didn't have goat cheese, so I used Mozzarella - came out wonderful)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Logsdon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Moorestown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
I gave it a five because it's easy to prepare, and I love goat cheese. My diet doesn't allow me to eat carbs, so this was perfect for me. Very tasty, wonderfull idea. TIP: If you can prepare them in a panini maker, it would be easier. Grill the eggplant separate first. Put them together at the end with the tomatoes also. Love it, love it, love it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PICHINGA2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Managua, Managua, Nicaragua
Living In: New Windsor, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
Loved this recipe- my husband usually will not eat goat cheese, and we had these 2 nights in a row! Added an extra step at the beginning - salting eggplant releases excess moisture and a bitter flavor from the vegetable. Slice the eggplant as normal, lay on paper towels, and sprinkle with salt. Let it sit for about 30 min, then rinse and pat dry. Then you can marinate as normal. Also, did not make sandwiches with it- that's too hard to grill! Grilled one side of the eggplant, flipped, and put on cheese and tomato. Never made the eggplant "sandwich." Next I'm going to try slicing the eggplant lengthwise, grilling as normal, and rolling and securing with a toothpick after they're off the grill to make eggplant rolls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Living In: West Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
Great tasting eggplant! I followed other reviewers suggestions and grilled each eggplant slice, then topped with fresh basil, goat cheese, and finally a tomato slice. I left them open faced and just closed the grill for a few minutes to melt the cheese. To serve I topped each with freshly ground black pepper and a parsley sprig. It was so simple and tasted fantastic. Next time I think I would brush the tomato slice with the olive oil/balsamic mixture, just because they kind of dried out on the grill. Thanks Carolyn for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Baked Goat Cheese Caprese Salad

Taste a creamy, inspired version of the classic tomato salad.

Goat Cheese and Arugula Over Penne

Fresh arugula and cherry tomatoes in a creamy, garlicky pasta sauce.

How to Make Grilled Eggplant Salad

Enjoy exotic northern African flavors in this grilled eggplant and pepper salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States