Grilled Eggplant, Tomato and Goat Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
Loved this recipe- my husband usually will not eat goat cheese, and we had these 2 nights in a row! Added an extra step at the beginning - salting eggplant releases excess moisture and a bitter flavor from the vegetable. Slice the eggplant as normal, lay on paper towels, and sprinkle with salt. Let it sit for about 30 min, then rinse and pat dry. Then you can marinate as normal. Also, did not make sandwiches with it- that's too hard to grill! Grilled one side of the eggplant, flipped, and put on cheese and tomato. Never made the eggplant "sandwich." Next I'm going to try slicing the eggplant lengthwise, grilling as normal, and rolling and securing with a toothpick after they're off the grill to make eggplant rolls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Living In: West Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
SENSATIONAL! We used balsamic vinaigrette dressing & mozzarella & provolone instead of goat's cheese. Threw in fresh basil also! It was EASY & didn't fall apart. Looked like a gourmet veggie dish from a fancy restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
This was pretty good but I changed a few things (I broiled it in the oven). First I sliced the eggplant and brushed each side with olive oil and sprinkled some dried basil on top. I then put them under the broiler about 7 minutes each side (watching them closly). I then topped each slice with a slice of tomato and put it back under the broiler for a few more minutes. I them topped it with the cheese and put it under the broiler for an additional couple of minutes. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sabesh1
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
Very rich appetizer, great with a glass of red wine. Very easy recipe to prepare. One may attempt to make a eggplant sandwich instead of what is suggested in the recipie. This makes it easier to grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sabesh1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
I gave it a five because it's easy to prepare, and I love goat cheese. My diet doesn't allow me to eat carbs, so this was perfect for me. Very tasty, wonderfull idea. TIP: If you can prepare them in a panini maker, it would be easier. Grill the eggplant separate first. Put them together at the end with the tomatoes also. Love it, love it, love it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PICHINGA2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Managua, Managua, Nicaragua
Living In: New Windsor, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
Very tasty -- very easy. Thanks for the recipe! (I didn't have goat cheese, so I used Mozzarella - came out wonderful)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Logsdon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Moorestown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
This came out really yummy! I tried it with a basil leaf added in. So good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
Wow!! This was fantastic. Followed everyone's suggestions and added some basil leaves. I also had some spinach leaves on hand so I threw those in too. Thanks for the recipe, can't wait to try it on company...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
I blended the tomato and cheese and smeared it in between the eggplant layers. It was easy to make and tasted fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
I made this just as described but with a basil leaf on top of the goat cheese. My grill ran out of gas as I was cooking them! I finished them in the oven, and they are soooo creamy and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Goat Cheese Caprese Salad

Taste a creamy, inspired version of the classic tomato salad.

Goat Cheese and Arugula Over Penne

Fresh arugula and cherry tomatoes in a creamy, garlicky pasta sauce.

How to Make Grilled Eggplant Salad

Enjoy exotic northern African flavors in this grilled eggplant and pepper salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States