Grilled Eggplant Moussaka Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
I can't praise this recipe enough! I made it exactly as written because I wanted to get an authentic flavor. What I got was a masterpiece! I preferred the grilled vegetables to fried. My family LOVED this dish, and I know I'll be making it again soon. It's well worth the time and effort to make it right, with no shortcuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Oh WOW! This was delicious. Time consuming but well worth the effort! I used my grill pan for the veggies. Had a small round seedless eggplant and yukon gold potatoes but omitted the zucchini-didn't have any. Also used about jarred spaghetti sauce instead of tomatoes 'cause I didn't have them either. Turned out great! Next time I'm gonna try this with ground lamb. Thanks Constantina!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chalfont, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Weymouth Township, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
I use 2 square 9x9 pans, and I prepared the veggies and the meat as directed. I made the bechamel sauce for one pan, and froze the other without bechamel sauce. This is an excellent alternative to lasagna when you don't have the pasta or ricotta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
Wow, this is really, really good. This is my first time making moussaka and it turned out very good. I used 4 red potatoes, 2 zucchini, and leftover grilled eggplant that my mom cooked. I also added some crumbled bacon, leftover spinach and artichoke dip, and substituted tomato paste for the tomatoes. I also cut the sauce down because my tray was about to overflow but it added a nice "crust" at the top. Baked for 55 minutes. Awesome! I know this will be all gone tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XXXNAUGHTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I thought this was delicious! It was time consuming, but making this moussaka was quite enjoyable for a rainy evening with the place to myself. I brushed the veggies with olive oil and baked them in the oven at 375 degrees instead of grilling them. Each vegetable had a different cook time for me, so I would recommend monitoring and poking around a little to assess when the vegetables are soft to your liking. My final product included some water at the bottom of my baking dish, but this did not translate to a watery moussaka. The sauce was super creamy, and the feta was a delicious touch. Plus, my apartment smells amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
I have made Moussaka a few times before....and I have been hesitant to make it for the last couple of years, because it is such a heavy dish. Your idea of grilling the veggies is just what I needed. I'm going to start making it again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
I made this last night.. How delish is this? I added motzerrella cheese instead of feta.. Yumm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SABUYUKCAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
WOW! Although this dish is a little bit time consuming, it is not difficult and it worth every minute! I followed the advice of some other ratings and I oven roasted my veggies in some olive oil, and instead of using fresh tomatoes, I used some leftover homemade tomato sauce. It was better than the moussaka at my local Greek food festival!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy Kay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Very good! I doctored up the gravy (bechamel) with a little parmesan cheese and sprinkled a little parmesan on top of each veggie layer. I followed another reviewer's suggestion to use onion soup mix instead of onion - it was a very nice flavor boost. Next time I may try it without to get a more traditional meat sauce. Ground turkey worked great and halving the recipe still gave us plenty leftovers for hubby and I. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I really enjoyed this recipe. I made some variations to see if I could make it even healthier - using Meat Crumbles from MorningStar (soy), skim milk and pam spray instead of olive oil. I also used only about 1/2 the white sauce I prepared based on the recipe's quantities. The end product was delicious! I calculated approximately 250 calories per hefty serving with these changes. Thanks for the GREAT healthy variation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Eggplant Salad

Enjoy exotic northern African flavors in this grilled eggplant and pepper salad.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Grilled Spanish Mustard Steak

Spanish ingredients make a delicious marinade for grilled steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States