Grilled Eggplant Moussaka Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
First time making moussaka and this wasn't what I remembered from Greece. I learned a few things making this and might try a different recipe next time. I sliced my zucchini too thick, so its flavor was too strong in each bite. I almost burnt the zucchini and eggplant on the grill (its too far from the kitchen) so need to do the first couple things one at a time instead of all at once. I cooked the potatoes on the grill in a grill dish (don't know what it's called, a square metal dish with holes to BBQ with) and that worked great so they didn't overcook. Not enough nutmeg in here - couldn't even taste it and I used more than a pinch. Don't need to use olive oil to cook the ground beef. My sauce didn't come out great. Not sure why. It wasn't as thick as I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
This is a good moussaka recipe but bland and a bit cumbersome. I used only 2 lg eggplant, no zucchini. Vegetable Changes:I sliced the eggplant in to 1/4 in slices, spritzed with olive oil spray and baked in a 400 oven for 10 minutes on a parchment lined pan. I boiled the potato slices for 4 minutes. Bechamel was good and only change I made was way more than a pinch of nutmeg, 1/4 teaspoon is more like it. Meat/Sauce changes: Peeled the tomatoes. Added 1 t cinnamon, 1/4 t ground allspice, and a pinch of ground clove. Added two cloves of garlic, minced to the sautee. Omitted parsley because I didnt feel like going back to the garden and my son brought me cilantro by mistake when I sent him. Added 1 T tomato paste and a 1/4 c red wine. I thought sauce looked runny so I thickened with a slurry of 2T water and 2 t cornstarch. WIth my changes it is a 5 stars. It makes an enormous quantity, but that is OK because it freezes well. I took the leftovers, and chilled in fridge. I cut into serving size slabs and wrapped in a double layer of wax paper. Shoved all the wrapped slabs in a labelled ziploc bag. Now I have excellent lunches to go. Take a slab to work and it defrost in time to heat nicely in a microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Love it! I have also made this without ground beef and it was great that way too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leakey, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
All that work, and it taste like beef stroganoff, bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
This was so delicious! My husband decided he was making a Greek eggplant appetizer (this was his ONLY plan for dinner) so I had to come up with something quick that would complement his choice. We enjoyed this so much! I forgot to add the egg yolk, but it didn't seem to affect the outcome. My family was very happy with this dish, and my husband's appetizer came out great also (in case you were wondering). Thanks for sharing this Greek treat, we'll make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
This tasted good, but it was pretty watery, and the topping didn't set as well as I'm used to when I order it in restaurants. I used fresh tomatoes and wonder if that is why, or whether the zuccini made it so. I made it without potatoes because I didn't have any in the house. Perhaps they would have absorbed the liquid. My husband liked it, but I think I won't bother to make it again. It was too much work for too little reward.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
This was Great! My husband kept saying..."What is that?" A casserole, I answered...While he was eating, he said "OK, this is really good, you can tell me what it's called now." Lol. I didn't have eggplant, but grilled zucchini & tomatoes from my garden. Can't wait to eat the leftovers for lunch. Mmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
excellant recipe...I made this for my Greek boyfriend and he loved it....I could tell by the look in his eyes, that he was home :) Yes, it is time consuming, but very worth the effort to make....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nolans_mum

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
I was delighted to find what is described as a lighter version - but noted half a cup of olive oil plus 5 tablespoons butter and more oil with the meat mix - nothing light about this recipes though I'm sure it's delicious just too oily for my waistline
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
This is very good. I used ground turkey instead of beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Eggplant Salad

Enjoy exotic northern African flavors in this grilled eggplant and pepper salad.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Grilled Spanish Mustard Steak

Spanish ingredients make a delicious marinade for grilled steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States