Grilled Delmonico Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
TERRIBLY SALTY! GROSS. WHAT A WASTE OF MONEY ON GREAT STEAKS. Couldn't even eat them!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conneautville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Port Richey, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
i used this as a starting point for 1.75 lbs of bone in pork chops.. i scaled the amount down to two servings.. i was worried it would be too pungent (which is a strange worry for me as i love pungent foods) and too salty so i made the following modifications.. used low sodium soy sauce and only 2 T of it, omitted the salt, pepper, and onion.. reduced the steak seasoning (i used montreal) to 1 T and reduced the steak sauce to 1 T.. i should have halved the garlic bc i felt it over powered just about everything else.. i know you're not supposed to modify everything and then give a rating but i went with my gut feeling and knew this was going to be way too salty/strong like most everyone else complained about
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
This was absolutely delicious, but my family agrees with many of the other reviews that this is extremely salty. That is the only reason for 4 stars. We will definitely be making it again, but will reduce or eliminate the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
I just made this for one one and a half lb. rib eye. I only used one tablespoon of salt due to the amount of meat I had. I didn't have A-1 so I used ketchup.. Talk about delicious!!!!! OMG!!!! YUMMY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lancaster, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
We have steak for dinner 1 night of the race weekend during racing season as one of the racer's provide them for "their" dinner night. We had some unused steaks from a race weekend and decided to try this marinade recipe. This is the best marinade my boyfriend and I have used or eaten outside a restaurant-prepared steak. We made it our own after reading the reviews by deleting the salt and rosemary (personal taste), changing the pepper to 1 teaspoon, adding 2 Tablespoons brown sugar and subbed 3 Tablespoons dried minced onions for the fresh which I let soak in the sauce for 5 minutes before covering the steaks. They marinated for 6 hours before we cooked them and they were OUTSTANDING!!!!! We hope to make this the marinade used at the races now too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I left out the salt, steak seasoning and steak sauce, and cut the soy sauce in half, and this was perfect. Very good marinade for steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURISSIMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Texarkana, Texas, USA
Living In: Garland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
First time making this recipe. I love it! I read reviews about not adding the salt required. However, I felt I should of had added to it. I will definitely save this for my future steaks marinades
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
The recipe calls for discarding the marinade before cooking. I found that if I actually rinsed the steak off before cooking it was absolutely wonderful and the meat had absorbed the correct amount of the marinade. If I did not it was too salty (and generally too over flavored).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I've used this marinade several times now and my husband raves about it each time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Wish I would have read the reviews before I made this. It was definitely way too salty, but the overall taste was delicious. I will definitely try this again without the salt and maybe adding some brown sugar. It is a good marinade, it just needs adjusted a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 344) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Grilled Lamb Steaks

Grilled marinated lamb dressed with a minted honey and sherry vinaigrette.

Grilled Halibut Steaks with Corn and Chanterelle

Grilled halibut steaks with a mushroom and sweet corn relish.

Grilled Tuna Steaks with Grape and Caper Salsa

See how to make grilled tuna with a fresh-tasting, sweet-and-tangy salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States