Grilled Cornish Game Hens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
I'll start by saying I had to bake my birds, due to rain. I split them up the breast before putting them in the marinade, letting them sit overnight, and turning in the morning. They turned out fantastically. I cooked at 375, and basted at 15 min. intervals until done, about 1.5 hours. The birds had a great citrusy flavor all the way through without taking away from the flavor of the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
This is a super receipt. I added some red pepper to spice it up. Followed the time cooking and it was cooked just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
This recipe was very delicious. It was a great idea to keep the hens moist while grilling. Perfectly delicious! My one comment would be to tweak the ingredients according to your family's taste, which any cook would know to do. In my case, I used the juice of two lemons and was less than the cup but enough for me. Had it been more it would have turned more into the deli lemon pepper chicken sold at Walmart (not my intention). Next time I will use more of some of the ingredients like tabasco and worcester as I personally felt the taste needed more of a kick. Delicious and a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zepolystek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorraine West

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Delicious!!!! I only had a 1/2 C of lemon juice and these were so good. I didn't really taste any "distinctive" taste from the marinade, just great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
These birds turned out really well. I was sure the lemon juice would overpower everything but I was wrong. The flavor sublime. I followed another poster's suggestion and pureed the onion, garlic and lemon juice in the Vitamix. Then added the rest of ingredients. Marinated butterflied birds for 5 hours and they cooked in about 35 minutes. Served them up with the Mushroom Rice recipe from this site and steamed broccoli. A winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail A. Guild

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flemington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
Fixed this yesterday using whole hens and, I must say, the sauce makes this dish. The flavor was wonderful and not overpowering. The skin was nice and crisp and had great flavor and the meat was mouth watering. Only change I made was eliminating the white wine simply because we don't drink and I didn't feel like going to the store for some. I don't think it would have made any difference though. I suspect this marinade would be good on almost any meat. I must confess, though, this was an experimental recipe for me since I was using my rotisserie for the first time and wanted something fairly simple. I do plan to use it again and I will let you know how it is with other meats. Again, great recipe. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
We loved this recipe. I didn't think they would take as long to cook but they really do. Really easy to prepare and serve. Easy on the lemon juice if you aren't fond of it as it does come through in the end. If you are worried about spice, the hot pepper sauce and pepper it's very mild.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
It was good, not something I would make often, but good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
All we could say is WOW! These are amazing! We marinated them overnight (approx 24 hrs) and then grilled them on charcoal with mesquite wood chips. It was wonderful and SO easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MB1985

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Grilled Game Hens

This spicy, creamy, garlicky marinade is great for game hens or chicken pieces.

Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary

See how to make impressive roasted game hens with a savory white wine sauce.

Grilled Game Hens with Blood Orange & Rosemary

See how to grill game hens marinated in blood orange juice and rosemary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States