Grilled Chipotle Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
It's not a "Wow!!!" flavor statement, but it is nice. DH, who does not like his sweet potatoes messed with, actually reached for the second part of his serving. (He had opted for a tiny taste-and-see portion on the first round.) I adjusted serving size to 2 and used a farily large sweet potato. I ended up using about four minutes on high in our microwave for the pre-cook phase. Meanwhile, I mixed the spices, vinegar and oil in a zip lock bag; later placing the "fingers" of par-baked potato into the bag for a shake-to-coat application ahead of grilling the requisite time. This was easy and was a nice alternative to butter and cinnamon. We will do again. (This time we served with a spinach salad and grilled steaks.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I love spicy food, and in several magazines I kept seeing good things about sweet potatoes. This recipe makes a great combination of both things! Plus, my girlfriend avoids sugar, so this recipe was a winner on that count too. A couple of suggestions: First, you could cut down the salt without hurting the outcome any. Second, watch your grill temp -- if you don't pay attention you will burn one side of your fingerlings RIGHT NOW.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Average recipe...wouldnt make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by LilSnoo
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Salty, sweet, spicy, all in one bite! These are delicious! Such an interesting blend of flavors. I only cooked the potatoes in the microwave for 6 mins and they were starting to get mushy, so I think 10 mins would be much too long. The only thing I noticed was that they seemed to be slightly dry, so next time I will make extra sauce so I can baste them more often. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
I cut a sweet potato into chunks, and then mixed everything in a plastic bag before spreading on a parchment paper lined cookie sheet. I baked these at 375 for about 20 minutes! Delicious! We will have to make some more soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
I'm always looking for new and exciting ways to try sweet potatoes and I was really hoping this would be it. Unfortunately, we did not care this one that much. It was just average....none of the flavors stuck out. Maybe with some tweaking it would have reached the wow factor or I think if I found a good dipping sauce then we would have enjoyed it more. Thank you for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
I'm always looking for a hearty new sweet potato recipe that doesn't have any sugar. I'll be giving this recipe a try very soon- it sounds delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gonefishn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
I thought this was such an interesting recipe I had to try it. I'm glad I did because they were very tasty. Be sure not to cook your sweet potatoes too long in the microwave or they will be mushy when you cut them and won't grill as well. Cook just till just barely fork tender and then slice them up. It didn't say to peel them first but I did. If you are cooking something else on your grill it would be hard to make these for a large family, unless you have a huge grill. I served with Kickin' Turkey Burgers with Carmelized Onions from this site and we dipped them into the sauce recipe for the burgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 21-28 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States